2 Articles

When Formula One opted to switch from the planned four-cylinder engine regulations to the new six-cylinder format, it came as good news (or at least, less bad news than originally expected) to just about everyone involved. With the possible exception of PURE.

With BMW, Toyota and Honda long gone from an expanded grid, the 12 teams in the Formula One World Championship are powered by one of four engines: Ferrari, Mercedes-Benz, Renault or Cosworth. The new turbo four formula that's set to come into effect for the 2013 championship, however, is geared towards attracting new manufacturers into the series. And according to reports, it has landed its first newcomer.