Getting a car registered is an essential part of obeying the laws of a state. If you are new to state of Kansas or are a current resident that has just bought a new car, then you will need to take the time to get the vehicle registered. For those that are new to the state, you will have 15 days from the time you move to the area to get your vehicle registered. The same amount of time applies for current residents that are buying new vehicles.
The only way that you will be able to register a new vehicle is by going in person to the county clerk’s office. There are a number of things that you will need to bring with your to the county clerk’s office to ensure that you get the registration done in one trip. Here is a list of things to bring:
- The vehicle will first have to be inspected and approved by the sheriff in the county
- You will have to complete the Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title/Registration
- The title to the vehicle
- Current registration if coming from another state
- Proof of car insurance that has a minimum of $25,000 bodily injury coverage
- Driver’s license
- Proof of payment on all of your taxes from the previous state you lived in
If the vehicle has been purchased from a dealer, you will need the following items to register it:
- Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin with your name on it
- Proof of insurance
- Your social security number for verification of the names on the title
- Lien statement
When registering a car, here are some of the fees that you can expect to pay:
- Title Fee is $9
- If you want the title the next day it will be an additional $25
- The transfer fee is $17
- Yearly car registration fee $21
- Title lien statement fee $22
- The notary fee will vary depending on the county you are in
- The vehicle inspection will be $5
- The usage tax that you pay will be six percent of the cost of the vehicle.
Before you are able to register the vehicle in the state of Kentucky, you will need to make sure that you have your car insurance and you have had the vehicle inspected by the county sheriff. You can find out more information about this process by visiting the Kentucky DMV website.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as How to Register a Car in Kentucky and was authored by Valerie Johnston.