The State of Delaware has some of the strictest laws when it comes to using cell phones. In fact, drivers are banned from using pagers, PDAs, laptops, games, Blackberrys, portable computers, and cell phones while driving. Furthermore, drivers are not allowed to use the Internet, email, write, read, or send text messages while driving. However, drivers who use a hands free device are free to make phone calls while they are going down the road.
Delaware is the 8th state to ban the use of hand held cell phones and the 30th to ban texting while driving. There are certain exceptions to this law, which include emergency situations.
- No texting while driving for people of all ages
- Drivers may make phone calls with a hands free device, as long as it does not include using a hand to operate the hands free feature
- Firefighter, emergency medical technician, paramedic, law enforcement officer, or other operator of an emergency vehicle
- Drivers using a cell phone to report an accident, road hazard, fire, or other emergency
- Reporting a reckless driver
- Using a hands free device
- First offense is $50
- Second offense and subsequent offenses are $100 to $200
Data published from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration showed that from 2004 to 2012, the number of drivers holding a cell phone to their ear was between five and six percent. Since the cell phone ban went into effect in 2011, there have been over 54,000 cell phone citations made.
The State of Delaware takes their cell phone laws very seriously and cite drivers on a regular basis. If you must make a phone call while you are driving, use a hands free device. This goes for drivers of all ages. The only exceptions are in emergency situations. It is a good idea to pull over to the side of the road in a safe area to make a phone call rather than be distracted while driving.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Cell Phones and Texting: Distracted Driving Laws in Delaware and was authored by Valerie Johnston.