Driving on the roadways in Wyoming requires motorists to follow all traffic laws. In addition, there are also rules that govern the equipment on your vehicle. Below are the windshield laws in Wyoming that motorists must follow when driving on the roadways.
All vehicles driven on the roads must have windshields.
All windshields and windows must be made of safety glass, which is a combination of glass layers with glazing material between them that substantially lessens the potential for shattering or flying glass if struck or broken.
All vehicles must have working windshield wipers that are controlled by the driver and that remove rain, snow and other moisture to provide a clear view of the roadway.
Wyoming has the following regulations concerning potential windshield obstructions:
Posters, signs and other materials that are not transparent are not permitted in or on the windshield.
Stickers required by law are permitted in the lower corners of the windshield out of the driver’s line of sight.
GPS and similar devices are permitted providing they do not obstruct the driver’s view of the road and intersecting roads.
Wyoming window tint laws are as follows:
Windshield tint must be applied either above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or only to the top five inches, whichever comes first from the top edge, and cannot be reflective.
Tint applied to all side windows and the rear window must allow greater than 28% light transmittance.
Reflective tint is permitted providing it does not reflect more than 20%.
If the rear window is tinted, the vehicle must have dual side mirrors.
Exemptions for tint darkness may be made with proper certification of a condition requiring it from a doctor.
Red, amber and yellow tint is not permitted.
Cracks and chips
Wyoming does not specify regulations concerning cracks and chips in the windshield other than the following:
No cracks or chips that impair or obstruct the driver’s clear view of the roadway are permitted.
The above regulation leaves it up to the ticketing officer’s discretion as to whether a crack or chip impairs the driver’s view of the roadway and intersecting roadways.
Drivers in Wyoming who fail to comply with the above windshield laws are subject to traffic stops by law enforcement. These stops can result in either a warning or a minimum fine of $110 per offense depending on the county in which the infraction occurs.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Windshield Laws in Wyoming.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.