In the State of Nevada, texting, accessing the Internet, or using a handheld cell phone is prohibited to drivers of all ages and license status. Since the ban was put into place in 2012, there have been 11,992 traffic citations issued to distracted drivers.
It is illegal for drivers of all ages to use a wireless device to type, enter, send, or read a non-voice communication. This includes email, instant messages, or text messages. Those exempt from the law are licensed amateur radio operators, emergency personnel, employees of public utilities who are responding to emergencies, or drivers reporting emergencies.
- Drivers cannot text while driving
- Drivers cannot use a hand held cell phone
- Drivers responding to dangerous situations
- Drivers reporting emergencies
- Employees of public utilities responding to emergencies
- Licensed amateur radio operators who are communicating public information
- Emergency personnel
A police officer can pull you over for using a handheld cell phone or texting while driving without seeing you commit any other violation. If you commit a violation and receive a ticket, certain fines may come with the ticket. If you are caught breaking these laws in traffic control zones, such as construction zones, the fines may increase.
- First offense is $50
- Second offense within seven years is $100
- Third offense within seven years is $250
It is illegal in the State of Nevada to use a hand held cell phone or text while driving. It can cause a distraction which is dangerous to you and other drivers around you. Fines may increase in certain traffic zones, so it is best to put the phone away and pay attention to the road.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Cell Phones and Texting: Distracted Driving Laws in Nevada.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.