2008 Shell Eco-marathon coming in April; will anyone best 1902 mpg?

Last year, Cal Poly (ok, ok, California Polytechnic State University at San Luis Obispo) won the Shell Eco-Marathon Americas with an astounding 1,902.7 mpg score. For 2008, 34 teams will compete at the California Speedway event in April. Last week, Shell-Pennzoil driver Kevin Harvick was at the speedway with some of those winning Cal Poly students to talk about defending their title. The picture above shows Harvick and the students checking out last year's winning vehicle. We don't have too long to wait to see who - if anyone - will beat last year's record. The 2008 Eco-Marathon takes place April 10-13.

UPDATE: Harvick's name was misspelled in an earlier version of this post. Thanks to jzj.

[Source: Shell]

Share This Photo X