MotoGP expands with six new teams

When Formula One admitted four new teams a couple of years ago (and subsequently eliminated one before the season even started) it was a revolutionary expansion. Now its two-wheeled equivalent is looking to follow a similar path.

The MotoGP series – widely viewed as the pinnacle of motorcycle racing – has reportedly granted license for six teams currently in the second-tier Moto2 feeder series to join the premier MotoGP grid for next season.

The teams are Kiefer Racing, BQR/Blusens, Forward Racing, Marc VDS Racing, Interwetten Paddock GP and Speed Master. Each will be allowed one bike, as opposed to the two fielded by existing teams.

Now, unless you're the most hard-core motorcycle racing fan, chances are you haven't heard of any of these teams, but you may be familiar with names like Aprilia, Norton, Kawasaki and BMW. Each of these are touted as potential newcomers to the MotoGP grid next season as the new 1000cc regulations kick in. This ought to be interesting.

Share This Photo X