2018 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews

Chevrolet Malibu Owner Reviews (37)

5.0 out of 5

I have owned foreign, was in the market for foreign, and I cross shopped the Malibu Premier... I'm soo glad I did!

2016-09-27 04:29:15

I bought A 2013 Malibu LS used at the end of 2014. Good deal, solid car, reliable transportation and nothing more / nothing less, as I expected. Eventually it grew on me, but after seeing the 2016 Premier, you slowly start to realize that the Eighth gen Malibu was but a mere placeholder in retrospect, until they could finish designing the Ninth gen (New Malibu). Prior to this car I've owned two different Oldsmobile Intrigue GL's (great car for Oldsmobile) and quite a few different Volvos (absolutely loved them! still do! will always have a soft spot for those Swedish bricks) So as you can see, I've been around the block, so to speak. I thought nothing could make me feel the way I did about my Volvos, especially a GM product. Despite my Oldsmobile ownership in the past, I'd lost interest in GM after the early 00's. So needless to say, the 2016 Malibu Premier wasn't even a consideration at first. I knew this 2013 Malibu I had kicking around wouldn't be my "forever car" so I started looking around and eventually I had whittled down my front runners to the new Mustang, the Volkswagen Golf-R, Kia Optima and a couple of smaller models in the new Chevrolet lineup. This being my first ever new car, I wanted it to be something practical, sporty, fuel efficient, in the 30-35k range and just easy to live with overall. To my surprise, during my searching the Malibu Premier came up in every category alongside my front runners...so I decided to give it a chance. I have to say especially, if you're looking for a gorgeous family sedan with adequate power and don't want to move with the herd that is the Camry / Accord / Mazda 6 devotees, then by all means, Try out a Malibu premier. While the Camry and Accord offer V6 performance, the Premier offers up nearly the same grunt without the stodgy, "I've given up, where's my beige pants?" appeal of the Camry or Accord, which it has to be said are good cars in their own right. But if you want something different then the Premier definitely gives them a run for their money. What Chevrolet did this time around with the Malibu is day and night when comparing it to the 2013 Malibu it replaces. I genuinely can't get through a day without getting at least one compliment about the Premier. Camry owners, Mazda, Honda, Ford, some BMW people, Some Audi people, doesn't matter who. They love it as much as I do! To sum it up, if you're looking for reliable, refined, sporty, dare I say luxurious?, definitely safe, fun... and fuel efficiency, there is very little else realistically in the price bracket that delivers on all fronts for the modern family. While other cars deliver in some aspects for the same amount of money, the New Premier is very reminiscent of my old Volvos, in that what Chevrolet has done is make an excellent all rounder. It's not the be all, end all of the new Midsize sedan market by any means, but you also shouldn't be turning your noses up at the 2016/2017 Chevy lineup. I urge you! if you're in the market for a new midsize sedan, but don't want to give up performance either, make the Premier apart of your short list! even if it's not to your liking, you will be thoroughly impressed! I know I was and I've been a proud owner for a month now.

2016 Chevrolet Malibu


Renter

2016-05-18 12:04:21

I had the experance of having to drive a chev Malibu for 3 weeks. this was one of the nosiest cars I have had the pleasure of drive in years. I would say that driving it was by far the best reasion NOT to BUY ONE. this car had 5k on it one of the things I didn't like was that when stoped for a stop light the engine would shut off till the gas pedal was pushed then it started and operated normal.( I was never sure it was going to start.) Road noise was so bad that the radio had to be so louad that people would look at me at the triffic lights. It ran well on open road handled ok wind noise was bad as well

2016 Chevrolet Malibu

Mr,

2016-04-18 08:11:21

Purchase new for my wife. I was amazed at the mpg 35/36 on road, sometimes a little higher. NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. Always garage kept so it still looks like new. with jusr 60,000 miles on it we will keep it a few more years. We are both retired so we do not drive more that 7,000 miles a year. I would probably buy another one when the time comes.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu

I chose this over the 2016 Mercedes CLA, Lincoln MRZ, Audi and more-Good car

2016-03-20 13:11:26

I leased the 2016 Premiere with all the options. After a bad wreck in another car I was after safety and this car offers it in spades. Front, back, sides, lane assist, you name it - it has it. The only sedan I found with more safety features was an infiniti and it had poorer crash ratings. I test drove about 8 other cars and looked at another 15 (that I didn't like well enough to drive). This car handled better than the Ford Fusion Titanium or the fully loaded Mazda6. I admit, the Mercedes was sweet to drive and had a very rich interior, but had MUCH fewer features than the new Malibu. Not even a navigator - tho it had a SD slot where the salesman said I could purchase a $600 3rd party Garmin and plug it in for navigation. Talk about cheap (or at least cheesy). Likewise the Audi - the salesman said it would have features more like the Chevy does now, but NEXT year... what? There are a few things missing in the Malibu but these have been minor. Examples: only the driver window has one-touch down and there's no lock on the gas lid. Irrelevant compared to all the other features. I've been very pleased. I have a heated steering wheel, heated/ventilated (cooled) seats, plugs for everything everywhere, navigator, warnings about cars coming from the side behind me, auto stop if a car/pedestrian is in front, on star, linkage to iPhone and Siri, a huge trunk, blind side, and more that just wont font here. The warm brown leather interior is the prettiest and classiest of all the choices - doesn't look cheap at all. In fact, it looks very rich and classy. Sadly, I couldn't find that with all the options I wanted and have solid black leather instead. Which seems to show every finger smudge. But it is nice looking.It handles great, does well on the crappy and bumpy Houston roads, and has very decent pickup for a 4 cylinder ... must be the turbo.Everyone I've had in the car with me has been VERY impressed and not a single person thought it was cheap, not even my adult son who is a Cadillac and Mercedes lover (he hated the Ford BTW - saying that IT was cheap looking). A few are now thinking of buying one.My prior car was a Volvo C70 convertible, and this car will never be as nice only because its not a drop top - otherwise, the Malibu with Premier Trim and both Driver Confidence packages is very well worth owning.

2016 Chevrolet Malibu

Good Value

2015-12-09 12:42:43

Having owned this car for nearly two years, I am quite pleased with the performance and value of my 2014 Chevrolet Malibu LS. Even though it is a base car, it does come with lots of air bags and abs and delivers a smooth ride and good gasoline mileage. The front seats are particularly comfortable. The back seats are a bit tight for taller passengers. I added factory remote start from the dealer at only $275. The engine is a 4 cylinder normally aspirated engine which delivers good power throughout the power range with a 6-speed smooth shifting automatic transmission. With my GM Credit Card Points and Factory Rebates at the time of purchase, I was able to get the price down to less than competing models. I like the On Star for telephone and driving directions and systems monitoring reports as well as emergency assistance in case of a collision. Higher line models of the 2014 had as options some safety features such as backup rear view vision camera, lane departure, blind spot monitoring, and adaptive cruise control. These features are becoming more widely available on future models cars and I look forward to getting them on my next car purchase. A turbo engine was also available, but here again only on higher line model Malibus. Personally, I am very satisfied with the powerful 4-cyclinder normally aspirated engine which makes plenty of power and the smooth 6-speed automatic transmission which combine for good gasoline mileage. The Malibu will is being redesigned for the 2016 model year and will offer only the turbo engine.

2014 Chevrolet Malibu

2015 Malibu

2015-11-21 01:22:30

I can't Beleive the way this car drives ! I had a 2008 Mercedes c230 and this beats it by far. I just wish I could have be able to push the financing a little more but wanted to keep my payments at a certain range. This car has it all!!! From the beautiful color all the way to the , Excellant and caring Treatment I received from Ivory Chevrolet in Union City Ga. 30291 and There Best Sales Consultant , Max Leatherwood. He was more than a salesman he is a consultant !! The Car is Great !! Has Everything I wanted and the Great Pricing To !!!

2015 Chevrolet Malibu

cheap components,bad fit finish obvious jap troll

2015-10-24 09:52:58

cheap components,bad fit finish? fellow, your post is an obvious lie. any Malibu owner would know that. Love my Malibu, haven't found even 1 thing to nitpick

2016 Chevrolet Malibu

2015 Chevrolet Malibu

2015-01-17 07:57:52

This is a fantastic, sporty vehicle great for moms on the go or singles!

2015 Chevrolet Malibu

cheap components bad fit and finish

2014-01-29 18:06:41

bought this car new and at 20k miles tires had to be replaced because vibrating over 30mph dealer said tires are cupped, yet alignment was ok. replaced tires and had alignment done, at tire shop 625 out of pocket. tire place said wheels were way out of align, water in headlight gm says its normal. far from normal will not fix headlight, heater motor very loud noise, temp gauge up and down while idling, gm says no problems found,interior trin on dash falling off,seat moves when hit brakes hard, engine makes loud clicking noise at start up, gm says normal. car shimys when taking off from a light. gm says normal. not normal. front struts make clunking noise when hitting any kinda bump. car has 34k miles on it and rides like it has over 100k. doors don't line up fit and finish is horrible all over the car didn't notice day of purchase had I, would have never bought it big piece of American made junk. never again will I buy American made car just not worth it , cheaply made junk.

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

2013 Malibu LS

2013-05-28 23:01:45

I bought the lower priced Malibu 1LS.. after shopping all competing midsize models i.e. camry, accord, altima, fusion,dodge, for my money there was no competition. the Malibu was the most comfortable and almost no road noise, no wind noise and in my opinion the Malibu was easily the best looking. the 2.5 L engine has plenty of power and fuel economy has been running about 33 in mixed driving. For ******** worth i highly recommend the 2013 Malibu.

2013 Chevrolet Malibu

1 / 4

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: