2008 International Engine of the Year awards announced...

And the grand winner is not surprisingly an engine from BMW, just like it has been for the last three years going back to 2005. The Bavarian automaker's 5.0L V10 won the award that year and in 2006, and BMW's luscious 3.0L twin-turbo inline six-cylinder engine won it in 2007 and has repeated its performance by winning the International Engine of the Year Award again for 2008. We get it, BMW makes really good engines.

There were 11 other categories in which engines from around the world were honored, and no less than five of those were also won by BMW. Check the list below to see what other automakers were able to wrest an International Engine of the Year Award from BMW.

Best New Engine of 2008
BMW 2.0L twin-turbo diesel (123d)

Green Engine of the Year 2008
Toyota 1.5L Hybrid Synergy Drive (Prius)

Best Performance Engine 2008
Porsche 3.6L Turbo (911 Turbo, 911 GT2)

Check out the rest of the awards for individual displacement classes after the jump, and visit the source below for a lot of good information on why each engine was a winner.

[Source: International Engine of the Year Awards]

Sub 1-Liter: Toyota 1.0L three-cylinder
1.0L - 1.4L: VW 1.4L TSI Twincharger
1.4L - 1.8L: BMW-PSA 1.6L Turbo
1.8L - 2.0L: VW/Audi 2.0L Turbo FSI
2.0L - 2.5L: Subaru 2.5L Turbo
2.5L - 3.0L: BMW 3.0L twin-turbo inline-six
3.0L - 4.0L: BMW 4.0L V8
Above 4.0L: BMW 5.0L V10

Share This Photo X