Champ Car champ and rookie crowned Down Under

The drivers after receiving traditional didgeridoos in Australia

Fans of open-wheel racing awaiting the results of today's season-finale Brazilian Grand Prix had something to keep them busy in the meantime, as the results of the Champ Car race Down Under came in with this season's champion one race early.

If you didn't tape the race to watch later, click through to the SPOILER ALERT to find out who won and who's champion this year in Champ Cars.


French driver Sebastien Bourdais has clinched his unprecedented fourth consecutive title and his 30th (and presumably final) series win at the end of his five-season career. Driving to victory at Surfers Paradise, the only driver to take the checkered flag there twice, Bourdais asserted his place as the top driver in the series as he ascends to Formula One, starting with Scuderia Toro Rosso next season.

While Bourdais moves up, the combination of Robert Doornbos and Team Minardi moved down to Champ Cars this season from F1 and, after coming in fourth at the Australian race, Doornbos was lauded as Rookie of the Year.

We'll look forward to seeing both Bourdais at the wheel of the suprisingly competitive Toro Rosso next season, as well as a Champ Car season unbridled from the Schumacher-like dominance of the talented French driver.

Share This Photo X