We're a little over a month away from the start to the second season of the FIA Formula E Championship. Among a great many other things, that means the teams are working to secure their driver lineups for the season ahead. And that's just what two of the leading teams in the series have announced.

First up is Oliver Turvey, who will be driving in the followup championship for NextEV TCR. There he'll be driving alongside defending champion Nelson Piquet Jr, who won the title last year for the same team. Turvey is a highly rated British driver and McLaren protégé, serving as a test and reserve driver for the team for the past six seasons and forming part of the outfit's GT racing roster. He competed in the season-closing London ePrix double-header for the same team, finishing in the points in both races. This year he'll be combining his duties in Formula E with driving for Honda in Japan's Super GT championship.

Andretti has also completed its lineup, signing Robin Frijns to drive for the team this season. The Dutch driver has won a number of titles across series like Formula BMW, Formula Renault, and the Blancpain Sprint Series. He also served as a test driver for Sauber and Caterham in F1. At Andretti, he'll be driving alongside Simona de Silvestro. The announcements leave only Team Aguri to confirm its drivers for the season ahead.

On top of all of these changes, the Formula E teams will also be able to use more battery power and their own motors in the upcoming season.

Related Video:

Formula E Championship Miami | On Location

Share This Photo X