Formula E drops Rio from inaugural season calendar

View 15 Photos
If you've been looking forward to Formula E kicking off its inaugural season of electric racing and holding an event in Brazil, you were probably pretty stoked to see that the calendar included a race in Rio de Janeiro. As well you should: while Brazil has been a mainstay of the Formula One calendar for decades, the Brazilian Grand Prix has been held at Interlagos – closer to São Paulo than Rio – since 1990.

Unfortunately for Brazilian racing fans, however, the Rio race was left off of a recently revised calendar issued by the FIA at this past weekend's meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Marrakech, Morocco. The revised calendar keeps the China and Malaysia rounds right where they were in September and October, but leaves the slot that was to be Brazil's vacant before the Uruguay and Argentina races carry on as planned in December and January. Los Angeles has been moved from its slot in February to April after the Miami race (which stays in March) and another round has been listed as TBA in February. The subsequent rounds in Monte Carlo (May 9), Berlin (May 30) and London (June 27) are still slated to carry on as planned.

Formula E has also adopted the F1 points scoring system and announced the first test sessions to take place, open to the public, at Donington Park in the UK in July and August, with two more test sessions to take place during the season. The series has also outlined a timetable for interested manufacturers to begin the application process in September to build their own chassis for the second season.
Show full PR text
FIA confirms Formula E updates following World Motor Sport Council
Paris|11 Apr 14

The FIA has approved a series of updates to the Formula E Championship following today's World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) in Marrakech, Morocco.

The 10 Formula E teams have now been fully approved by the council meaning Drayson Racing, China Racing, Andretti Autosport, Dragon Racing, e.dams, Super Aguri, Audi Sport Abt, Mahindra Racing, Virgin Racing and Venturi Grand Prix will all line-up on the start grid for the opening race in Beijing in September.

Amendments to the inaugural 2014/2015 season were also confirmed. The most significant of which being the postponement of the Rio de Janeiro ePrix, previously scheduled to host round three of the championship on November 15. This race will now be replaced with a brand new host city - to be announced shortly - taking place on February 14 2015.

The calendar amends also see the date of the Los Angeles race moved to April 4 2015. Full details of the new host city and the final calendar will be revealed on the official Formula E website soon.

Finally, the council confirmed that the points for the series will use the regular FIA system of 1st = 25pts, 2nd = 18pts, 3 = 15pts, 4th = 12pts, 5th = 10pts, 6th = 8pts, 7th = 6pts, 8th = 4pts, 9th = 2pts and 10th = 1pt. Three points will be awarded to the driver securing pole position whilst the driver setting the fastest lap receives two points.

Share This Photo X