Strong entry list released for 92nd Indianapolis 500

Things are looking solid for this year's Indianapolis 500 after race officials released the entry list for the first running of this iconic open-wheel race since this country's two warring open-wheel racing series merged back together in February. 39 entries have been placed, putting the complete roster within spitting distance of the record 42-car grid set in 1933. Of those 39, a solid 32 have confirmed the drivers who will race the cars, putting the list just one short of a full grid over a month ahead of the race, which will take place on May 25.

Along with such stoic racing names as Foyt, Scheckter, Andretti and Rahal, former Indy 500 winners Helio Castroneves (2001 & 2002), Buddy Rice (2004) and Dan Wheldon (2005) will return in pursuit of a repeat performance. Jason Priestly's Rubicon team is not on the list, however all three female drivers who competed last year will be back again. Twelve rookies will race for the checkered flag at the reunited event this year – including former Indy Lights champions Jay Howard and Alex Lloyd – marking an eleven-year record since 1997, the year after open-wheel racing split.

[Source: Autosport, Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty]

Share This Photo X