SPOILER ALERT: 2007 Race of Champions results

click on any image to view high-res gallery

The premise of the Race of Champions is simple: take the best drivers in the world and have them compete on equal terms. Drivers from Formula 1, DTM, WRC and more go head-to-head in the same cars on the same track with personal and national pride at stake. Drivers face off in a trio of different vehicles per round, with the best-of-three winner moving on to the next round. Recent winners include 2004 DTM champion Mattias Ekström, 2004-2006 WRC champ Sebastien Loeb, and Formula 1 driver Heikki Kovalainen. Results from this year's Race of Champions at Wembley Stadium in England can be found after the jump, and plenty of action photos can be viewed in the gallery below.

[Source: Race of Champions]

View 11 Photos

When it came to the last men standing for the final round, it was reigning ROC champion Mattias Ekström against the retired 5-time Formula 1 champion Michael Schumacher. Ekström had conquered Tom Kristensen, Travis Pastrana, and current World Touring Car champion Andy Priaulx, while Schumacher had outpaced Rally driver Henning Solberg, fellow F1 driver Jenson Button, and three-time Champ Car winner Sébastien Bourdais. Ekström and Schumacher split the first two races in the final round, but it was Ekström who eventually took the win as Schumacher fell behind and spun on the last turn while pushing to catch up. As a consolation, Schumacher, along with fellow countryman Sebastian Vettel, claimed the ROC Nations Cup for Germany. You can view a video of the final round, as well as other ROC videos at the Race of Champions web site.

Share This Photo X