NHRA 2007 season ends in Pomona

The 2007 NHRA Powerade Drag Racing Series ended this weekend at Pomona Raceway in California. It was a fitting end to a dramatic season marked with the passing of John Force Racing driver Eric Medlin and NHRA founder Wally Parks. There was also the spectacular crash in Texas between John Force and Kenny Bernstein that left a potential Funny Car champion out for the remainder of the season. Fortunately, unlike the rest of the season, all the drama during the finals was limited to the competition. Follow the jump to see the results.
[Source: NHRA]

In Top Fuel action Tony Schumacher won his fourth championship in a row. Schumacher needed an event win to secure the championship, which he earned by defeating Bob Vendergriff in the finals.

Teammates Robert Hight and Phil Burkart (John Force's replacement driver) battled it out in the Funny Car finals with Hight winning the Wally. However, the series championship went to Tony Pedregon.

The event and championship Pro Stock title was won by Jeg Coughlin. Coughlin defeated Justin Humphrey in the finals but sealed the championship in his second round win.

Pro Stock Motorcycle saw points leader Andrew Hines lose his run for the championship in the quarterfinals. That enabled Matt Smith to take the championship title with his event win.

Share This Photo X