The Formula E all-electric racing series continues to make all kinds of happy announcements ahead of its inaugural 2014 season. This time, the good news is the publication of a provisional calender with eight of the ten eventual locations.

The US will be bi-coastally blessed when the racing action starts, with one event planned for Miami and another for Los Angeles. In addition to the Rio de Janeiro and Rome races previously revealed, the schedule also includes Beijing, London, Buenos Aires and Malaysia's Putrajaya. The final two cities are still unknown, though organizers have expressed an interest in events in both Africa and Australia.

When cars do eventually line up on a starting grid, the Drayson Racing Technologies entry will, at the very least, have competition from China Racing. With previous experience in A1GP, Superleague Formula and FIA GT1, it should prove a formidable foe. It is hoped that, in all, ten teams will be ready to roll by the time the green flag drops for real.

Scroll on down for the official press release and let us know which two cities should pick up the remaining pair of open spots.
Show full PR text

FIA Formula E Preliminary 2014 Calendar Presented to the FIA

Formula E Holdings (FEH), the promoter of the FIA Formula E Championship, today presented the FIA with a preliminary list of 8 cities, all selected to host races next year. The races will feature Formula cars powered exclusively by electric energy.

Cities that are included in the preliminary calendar are: London, Rome, Los Angeles, Miami, Beijing, Putrajaya, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro.

Since its launch in August 2012, FEH has received formal demonstrations of interest to host a race from 23 cities across 5 continents.

FEH intends to organise up to 10 races in 2014, the inaugural year of the Championship. A further 2 slots will be kept free, to include 2 additional cities among those that have expressed interest.

The promoter has started working with the 8 cities included in the calendar, to discuss all
the specific elements involved in hosting a street race. The objective is to finalise formal agreements with the cities on or before July 1st 2013.

The final calendar will be presented to FIA for its approval at the September 2013 World Motor Sport Council.

The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, said: "Zero emission world class motor racing is a scintillating concept and I am hugely keen that London be involved in the birth of Formula E. It has the potential to highlight the impressive strides being made in the manufacture of electric vehicles and hosting a street race could also be of considerable economic benefit to our city."

The Mayor of Miami, Tomas Regalado commented: "We are enthusiastic about the future organization and promotion of Formula E, the worldwide championship for electric single-seater cars, sponsored by de Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile."

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E Holdings, said: "We are thankful to all the cities that have
expressed their willingness to host our races. The fact that cities from all over the world are interested in the FIA Formula E Championship is extremely heartening and shows a global commitment to clean mobility and sustainability. The provisional calendar we publish today is composed of cities in America, Europe and Asia. We look forward to also racing in Africa and
Australasia from 2015 onwards."
"At the moment we are working with the 8 selected cities on the feasibility and design of the street circuits. They will all be in city centres, easily accessible by public transport, and will feature some of the most beautiful and well known landmarks as a spectacular backdrop for the races. The fact that we will only race in city centres highlights the main message of our Championship: the electric car as a solution for mobility in cities of the future."

With regards to teams, so far FEH has proposed two teams out of ten to the FIA for the 2014 race, these are: the first British team – the FIA Formula E Team Drayson and the first official Chinese team - FIA Formula E Team China Racing.

In February 2013, the Italian company Dallara announced it would design the first Formula E cars and the first sketches have already been released. McLaren is designing and building the powertrain for the cars in a consortium with Spark Racing Technology (SRT), a new company led by French businessman Frederic Vasseur.

Formula E is an 'open' championship, it encourages car designers and constructors to build a Formula E car. The FIA technical regulations have set the framework for making such submissions possible. To ensure the availability of cars for the first year, FEH has ordered 42 cars from SRT for the 2014 Championship.

FIA Formula E Championship

Formula E is a new FIA championship featuring racing cars powered exclusively by electric energy. It represents a vision for the future of the motor industry over the coming decades. The races will be held in the heart of the world's leading cities, around their main landmarks. Demonstrations of the first cars will commence in 2013, followed by the first official electric car race in 2014. The aim is for a grid of 10 teams and 20 drivers in
2014. The FIA expressed its delight with the sport's shared values of clean energy and sustainability. Formula E hopes to promote general awareness around sustainability. It also intends to serve as a framework for R&D around the electric vehicle and accelerate general interest in these cars for personal use.

Follow us: @FIAformulaE

Share This Photo X