24 Hours of Daytona kicks off 2008 Grand-Am racing season

click above for more interesting pics from the 2008 24 Hours of Daytona

The 46th running of the 24 Hours of Daytona is now in the books. The annual endurance event kicked off the 2008 season of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series this past weekend, with Daytona Prototype class and production-based GT class cars rounding Daytona International Speedway's road course for 24 hours straight. The event not only attracted the usual Grand-Am drivers, but it also pulled ranks from the likes of Indy Car, NASCAR and ALMS. For the third straight year, Chip Ganassi Racing proved that it had the best driver depth to nab the overall win. Dario Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas paired up to take the 2008 title and DP class win with their Lexus-powered Riley chassis. Nick Ham, David Haskell, Raphael Matos and Sylvain Tremblay piloted their SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 to a GT class win and ninth place finish overall. The next event on the calendar for the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series doesn't happen until March 27th through 29th at Homestead Miami Speedway.

[Source: Grand-Am]

Share This Photo X