2015 Honda Civic Hybrid Reviews

4 out of 5

6 weeks and still very happy with my 2013 HCH

2013-04-11 13:19:59

The car rides very smoothly and has great acceleration. You would think that with 110 hp, you would have difficulty with hills or passing other cars. NOPE! The car has loads of safety features and diagnostics for the driver. I have gotten pretty close to the rated mileage most of the time. This is my second Honda Civic Hybrid. I moved up to this car for the safety features and the new technology. This car is sharp looking and classy. I got the EX/L trim, meaning that it is equipped with leather seats and a Navi. I would highly recommend it. It is the best of the 5 Honda Civics I have had in my life.

2013 Honda Civic Hybrid


This hybrid no good in South Florida

2012-05-14 15:01:37

Back in 08 when gas started its climb to $4/gal, I had a Honda Ridgeline on lease. Poor fuel economy and unforeseen miles use, made me dump the lease and buy the Civic Hybrid in March of 08. EPA was 40-45mpg. Upon purchase it got 38 on its first tank, thanks to the mild weather mostly city driving. I drove like grandma, and babied it to try to reach 40, my best was 39. On long trips, driving under 65mph got me 38mpg. Then the summer came in May with temps over 85F every day till November. My average for the 6 month summer was 34. CVT tranny makes it run like a go-cart or moped with no gear change. I have to get the engine to 4000RPM to merge in traffic on the highway, sounds like its winding out. Then the hybrid battery started to degrade. I ignored the request from Honda to bring the car in to "flash" the computer and just waited for the battery to degrade and it got replaced before the 80000mile deadline just 2 months ago. I must say this car is very reliable, it now has 76000 with minimal maintenance and no breakdowns. Just not worth the extra $5000 for the hybrid model.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

Most Buyers Will Probably Be Satisfied

2011-06-19 23:00:21

Just bought one. Hard to get a deal at this point with production problems in Japan. With the Navigation, sort of feels like video game console rather than an instrument panel. Includes many ways to tell you how "green" your driving is. Perhaps a bit of overkill. Has better acceleration than I anticipated, even in eco mode. Rear seats too cramped for most adults. No cupholders in rear--seems to be a strange oversight. No memory seat or homelink. Very good sight lines--way better than Prius, which is why I bought this car. Handles pretty well. I like all of the safety features--the car did well in crash testing. If you're looking for a stylish, really fun to drive car, this isn't it. However, if you want a dependable, easy to drive, very high mpg car with some really nice amenities, the 2012 Civic Hybrid seems to be a good choice.

2012 Honda Civic Hybrid

Darn near perfect so far.

2011-05-31 16:27:31

My '09 HCH now has 48,000+ miles on it. I bought it new in June of '09. While I can't speak for the few who have had problems with theirs, I can say that I love my car. I have a 40 mile commute each way to/from work, which is why I picked it up in the first place. The leather and NAV unit make it a very comfortable ride. I consistently get 40-42 mpg winter, and my last tank was a very representative 47+. I have gotten as high as 51+ mpg, but that was being very careful and does not normally conform to my driving habits. Regular oil changes (following the computer, NOT the mileage) and tire rotations are all I have had to perform so far. Two weeks ago the service tech asked me how long ago I had the brakes done. He figured with the higher mileage on the odometer, I must have had them done at least once. When I told him that I hadn't had them done yet, he told me that they have better than half the pads left and the rotors look great. The tires are still original with 5/32" of tread remaining.

2009 Honda Civic Hybrid

So/so gas mileage; reliability a question

2010-02-28 18:04:37

Bought new in April 2009. At 5000 IMA/Check engine light went on; after a lot of doubletalk dealer adjusted computer codes. This appears to be a problem-see Edmund's forum on the IMA topic. Gas mileage started in mid-40s, has dropped to mid-30s. This is a slow, small car; mileage should be better, and clearly not as advertised. Hoping that mileage gets better and IMA problems don't recur; will keep posted.

2009 Honda Civic Hybrid

Buy the Prius not CIVIC

2010-01-27 09:58:08

This car does not what I expeccted. First you have poor visablity to sides, sets to low to ground, you have to guess where the front end is all the time or damage the front bumper, into the wheel stops in parking lots. The fuel economy is so so, totaly empty on trip you can stretch it to almost 50 mpg. but with cargo it drops like a rock in the ocean. I averaged loaded down on trip to FL 34 highway. 750 is the max hauling, I had less than that. Around FL it's doing about 35 mpg, far cry from the sticker. It is not a fund car to drive, the braking, and in traffic is aweful, starting stopping etc.

2009 Honda Civic Hybrid

Review of 2010 Honda Civic Hybrid

2010-01-24 14:57:46

2010 Honda Civic Hybrid

Not available

2009-10-08 11:16:02

Has anyone seen one of these? I'm trying to buy one, and it's not available. They're pushing the insight, and they seem to have taken the Civic hybrid off the market.

2010 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008 Civic Hybrid is Phenomenal

2009-04-22 22:05:32

I have owned Hondas and Toyotas. Hondas consistently provide superior, more stable, safer handling, over various driving conditions. This was my primary reason for choosing the Civic Hybrid over the Prius. I drive a combination of city and highway. The government rates the Civic Hybrid at 40 mpg city and 45 mpg highway. I don't get 40 mpg in the city. I get 36 mpg in the city. But compared to nearly all other cars, 36 real world mpg in city driving is pretty phenomenal. On the highway I average a little more than 45 mpg. Overall, I average right at 41 mpg. That's real world overall average of 41 mpg. Again, that's pretty phenomenal compared to just about any other car. The Civic is not huge, but not tiny. Interior is spacious and very comfortable. All of my Hondas have been very reliable. Yes, something minor may need service occasionally, but I have never had a Honda just flat out break down, or not run adequately. My 2008 Civic Hybrid is a GREAT car.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

LOVE IT!

2009-03-21 11:58:51

I have had my 2007 Honda Civic Hybrid for almost 2 years now. I drove an SUV for 15+ years, so this was my first venture into a smaller car. I researched it online when the gas prices were nearing $3/gallon. They were starting to become scarce at that time, but I was lucky enough to find one that just came back on a trade in. Someone bought it, put 7,000 miles on it & traded it back for the larger Accord. Their loss was my gain! Right now, it costs me about $20-22 to fill the tank at about $1.90/gallon, and can last me about 400 miles. Sometimes I tend to drive too fast, so the gas mileage efficiency decreases some. It's still awesome and fun to drive - AND, its not ugly like the Prius! ha ha! I have had people offer to buy my Civic Hybrid from me, and I say "no way!". I love this little car, and how maintenance free its been through about 74,000 miles so far! The Civic Hybrids seem to be pretty hard to locate right now. Our local dealership never has any in stock when I am there. I have one with the Navigation system and XM, and I love it! I would recommend spending a few extra bucks and getting one with the Navi system. You will love it!

2007 Honda Civic Hybrid

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: