2006 Honda Civic Hybrid Reviews

4 out of 5

Civic Hybrid vs. Prius

2008-12-23 21:26:24

I had 2003 Prius (prior model) and now have had 2006 HCH for 2-1/2 year. The Civic was a much better value at the time of purchase when equipped with NAV system. The iPod jack is a nice touch as is the voice activation features of the controls & NAV system. The hybrid system for the old Prius was superior to Honda's newer system, and mileage was about 20% better. I average about 37mpg with the Honda. The Prius would, at times, operate entiredly on the electric engine while the Civic is very difficult to force into electric mode. Overall, the HCH is more stylish, fun to drive although pick-up can be a bit sluggish; however superior to a diesel!

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid


Best car I've ever owned, by far.

2008-09-04 22:19:02

Over 60k miles. Lifetime average 52.2mpg. Consistently get near 60mpg. No problems, whatsoever. Quiet, smooth. Never got below 45mpg, but I do drive to get the best mileage, not to try to impress people. If you can't get above 40mpg with this car, unstrap the lead weight from your right foot! If this one dies before I do, I'll just get another.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

MPG questions? Love our Civic!

2008-08-13 21:46:50

We have a 2006. The best mileage we've gotten is 60, the lowest, high 30's. These are dependent on city v highway and the outside temp and road conditions, of course, but we are usually 44-52 mpg. The owners' manual has great tricks of the trade if you follow them even for a non-hybrid, they improve performance: use cruise control (********* your rpms and listen to your engine), don't idle, stay at 55 - 62 mph, ease into stops, gradually speed up, limit a/c and defroster use... Have fun! I find it a challenge to see how well I can do each trip... and each tank. Love the ability to measure each!

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

Review of 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008-08-13 20:19:07

I LOVE my Civic Hybrid. It is fuel efficient. VERY GREEN! Low maintenance and saves a lot of money!!!!!

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

I love my Civic Hybrid

2007-12-19 07:22:30

This is a great car.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

LOW MPG for short commutes in winter

2007-10-19 01:36:11

I bought a 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid, and shockingly discovered that I got 22-26 mpg during Winter 2007. I made only short commutes to/from work (

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

Love it and at 53 MPG who wouldn't

2007-09-06 07:33:36

I put 120 miles per day into a 2-way commute and I do not use any major highways. I drive 55 in the 55 zone and also do the speed limit in all other zones. The car is solid and actually has less road noise than the regular Honda Civic I had previously. I now have just under 25,000 miles and I am averaging just over 53 MPG.I'm very very happy I bought this car.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

Have one and they are true on the mileage

2007-09-03 05:47:56

I have never gotten more than 47 Hwy and about 38 City mpg in my Hybrid Civic. On the other hand I drive a Prius at work and the gas mileage on average is higher than what the sticker states. Should have bought a Prius but hubby refused, didn't like the body style.

2006 Honda Civic Hybrid

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: