Every year, an international committee of automotive jurors get together and select their top picks for the World Car of the Year award. The jury announces the winner at the New York Auto Show, but before they do, they announce the finalists. And here's this year's crop.

The top ten finalists for the award include the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroën C4 Cactus, Ford Mustang, Hyundai Genesis, Jeep Renegade, Mazda2, Mercedes C-Class, Mini Hardtop (specifically the four/five-door version), Nissan Qashqai and Volkswagen Passat. Most of these models are available Stateside, with the exception of the BMW, the Citroën and the Nissan, while the VW is a different model on either side of the Atlantic.

In addition to the top honors, the jury also picks winners in individual categories. For the World Luxury Car of the Year, the finalists are the BMW i8 and X6, Cadillac ATS Coupe and Escalade, Kia K900, Lexus NX and RC, Lincoln MKC, Mercedes S-Class Coupe and Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB.

The finalists for World Performance Car of the Year include the Audi S1, S3 and TT, the Bentley Continental GT Speed, the BMW M3/M4, Chevrolet Corvette Z06, Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat, Jaguar F-Type R Coupe, Lexus RC F and Mercedes-AMG GT.

The short list for World Green Car of the Year is made up of the BMW i8 (again), the Hyundai Tucson Fuel Cell, Kia Soul EV, Volvo XC90 T8 and VW Golf GTE.

Finally, the nominees for the World Car Design of the Year award are the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroën C4 Cactus, Mercedes C-Class, Porsche Macan and Volvo XC90.

BMW would appear to hold the strongest chances of winning something, with four of its vehicles nominated across six categories. But as a group, Volkswagen has received seven nominations across its various brands, with at least one nominee in each category except for the luxury award. Meanwhile five models have been nominated in multiple categories, including the C4, 2 Series, RC, C-Class, and XC90. Look for the winners to be announced in Manhattan come April.
Show full PR text
Top Ten World Car Awards Finalists Announced

The journey on The Road to the World Car continues with today's announcement of the finalists in all five award categories.

The 2015 World Car Awards prize-giving ceremony will be hosted by the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, April 2. Winners of the 2015 World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car, World Performance Car, World Green Car and World Car Design of the Year will all be declared at this time.

A jury of seventy-five distinguished international automotive journalists selected the following finalists in the World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car and World Performance Car categories by secret ballot based on their experience with each candidate as part of their professional work.

The international accounting firm KPMG tabulated the jurors' ballots and announced the finalists today.
The 2015 World Car of the Year will be selected from the following TEN finalists listed in alphabetical order.

- BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
- Citroën C4 Cactus
- Ford Mustang
- Hyundai Genesis
- Jeep Renegade
- Mazda2
- Mercedes-Benz C-Class
- MINI 5 door / MINI 4 door Hard Top
- Nissan Qashqai
- Volkswagen Passat

The 2015 World Luxury Car will be chosen from one of these top ten finalists:
- BMW i8
- BMW X6
- Cadillac ATS Coupe
- Cadillac Escalade/ESV
- Kia K900
- Lexus NX
- Lexus RC
- Lincoln MKC
- Mercedes-Benz S Coupe
- Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB

The 2015 World Performance Car top ten finalists are:
- Audi S1
- Audi S3
- Audi TT / TTS
- Bentley Continental GT Speed
- BMW M4 Coupe/M3 Sedan
- Corvette Z06
- Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat
- Jaguar F-TYPE R Coupe
- Lexus RC-F
- Mercedes-Benz AMG GT

The 2015 World Green Car category is handled differently. Five experts in "green" technology were appointed by the World Car Awards Steering Committee to extensively review all documentation and specs associated with each candidate on the list of nominees. The experts then create a short-list of finalists for review by the 75 jurors in their second round of voting this month. The finalists for 2015 are:
- BMW i8
- Hyundai x35/Tucson Fuel Cell
- Kia Soul EV
- Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine
- Volkswagen Golf GTE

Cars eligible for the 2015 World Car Design of the Year award are taken from the list of World Car candidates or may be included as a stand-alone entry provided the vehicle is available in quantities of at least 10 in one major market during the period beginning January 1, 2014 and ending May 31, 2015. Candidates may be pre-production or all-new production.

The five finalists chosen are:
- BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
- Citroën C4 Cactus
- Mercedes C-Class
- Porsche Macan
- Volvo XC90

The Road to the World Car began in Paris on October 2, followed by a stop in Los Angeles for a test-drive of the North American contenders in November, and continues with the finalists' announcement. The next stop is at the Geneva International Auto Show on Tuesday, March 3 when the top three finalists in all categories will be announced. The journey ends at the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, April 2nd, 2015 when all winners are declared.

Share This Photo X