Amazon Prime Day 2024

Force India delays driver announcement until January 11

With the majority of F1 teams gearing up to unveil their new cars, all but two have confirmed their drivers for the upcoming season. The only seats still up for grabs are with Force India and Super Aguri, and while the former was expected to confirm its drivers before the end of the year, that date has now been pushed off until January 11.

Adrian Sutil is all but completely confirmed to take one of the seats at the team formerly known as Spyker and before that as Jordan since its founding in 1991. But a number of drivers remain hopeful to take the second seat, including Renault refugee Giancarlo Fisichella, former Toro Rosso driver Vitantonio Liuzzi, former Jaguar/Red Bull/Honda pilot Christian Klien and Roldán Rodríguez, currently slated as Force India's test driver. Veteran racer Ralf Schumacher, as we previously reported, tested for the seat, but previous reports that the German driver would have to sit out the 2008 season have now been confirmed.

Once Force India confirms its drivers in two weeks, only Super Aguri, recently confirmed by Honda for another season, will be left to announce its roster. Takuma Sato is expected to take one seat and the second remains a wild card likely to be contested by whoever doesn't get the second Force India seat.

Follow the jump to view the confirmed drivers for the 2008 Formula One World Championship.

[Source: F1-Live, Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty]

2008 Formula One World Championship
drivers roster

1) Kimi Raikkonen
2) Felipe Massa

1) Lewis Hamilton
2) Heikki Kovalainen

BMW Sauber
1) Nick Heidfeld
2) Robert Kubica

1) Fernando Alonso
2) Nelson Piquet Jr.

1) Nico Rosberg
2) Kazuki Nakajima

1) Jarno Trulli
2) Timo Glock

1) Rubens Barrichello
2) Jenson Button

Red Bull
1) David Coulthard
2) Mark Webber

Toro Rosso
1) Sebastian Vettel
2) Sebastien Bourdais

Force India

Super Aguri

Share This Photo X