Amazon Prime Day 2024

Formula 1 drivers pick new numbers for life

Along with the controversial decision to award double points for the final race of the season, the FIA announced last month that Formula One drivers would be allowed to choose permanent numbers that can be carried over from season to season. Previously, the numbers changed based on finishing position during the previous year.

The new system allows the reigning world champion to wear number one, if he chooses, while the rest of the field can choose a number from 2 to 99. Now, we have the list of numbers each driver has chosen.

First and foremost, Sebastian Vettel will wear number one next season, although the four-time champion will race under number five if someone ever manages to unseat him from the top of the F1 hierarchy. Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes, meanwhile, will carry number 44 to the track, while Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari will wear 14 and seven, respectively. Jenson Button and his McLaren will be number 22.

Scroll down for the full listing of numbers, provided by ESPN. Red Bull

1. Sebastian Vettel (will use number five when not reigning champion)
3. Daniel Ricciardo


44. Lewis Hamilton
6. Nico Rosberg


14. Fernando Alonso
7. Kimi Raikkonen


8. Romain Grosjean
13. Pastor Maldonado


22. Jenson Button
20. Kevin Magnussen

Force India

27. Nico Hulkenberg
11. Sergio Perez


99. Adrian Sutil
21. Esteban Gutierrez

Toro Rosso

25. Jean Eric Vergne
26. Daniel Kvyat


19. Felipe Massa
77. Valtteri Bottas


17. Jules Bianchi
TBC Max Chilton

Both drivers to be confirmed

Share This Photo X