Dodge is leaving NASCAR on a high note. The automaker snagged the 2012 Sprint Cup series championship on Sunday when Penske and Brad Keselowski took the checkered flag at the Ford EcoBoost 400 at the Homestead-Miami Speedway. The championship win marks the fifth such title for Dodge and the company's first since 1975. That last championship victory came at the hands of none other than Richard Petty.

That's a long time, but Penske has been waiting a spell for its first series win, too. The team first entered the NASCAR Sprint Cup series in 1972 but never quite managed to seal the deal. In 1993, Rusty Wallace brought the team as close as it ever came: second place. But after overcoming a few mechanical issues early in the season, Keselowski and Penske stayed consistent enough to see themselves seeded fourth in the Chase. After taking the checkers at Chicagoland, Keselowski became an early favorite for the win, and his performance at Homestead-Miami sealed the deal. Check out the full press release below for more information.
Show full PR text
Brad Keselowski Wins 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

Owner Roger Penske Also Celebrates As First-Time Series Champion

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 18, 2012) – Brad Keselowski won the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship today at Homestead-Miami Speedway, earning owner Roger Penske's first title in NASCAR's premier series.

For owner Penske, the wait that began before Keselowski was born (1984) finally is over. Penske Racing, which entered the NASCAR Sprint Cup races in 1972, ended the longest non-championship streak among current ownership. Penske's best previous finish was second in 1993 with NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Rusty Wallace.

To be the best, Keselowski had to beat the best – Johnson. The pair traded the lead of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup five times, the last on Nov. 11 at Phoenix International Raceway where Keselowski finished sixth and Johnson – the victim of an accident – placed 32nd.

Keselowski's 15th-place finish in Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway was all it took to apply the finishing touches to a stellar championship season. Keselowski's championship came in his 125th start, the fewest since Jeff Gordon captured his first of four titles in 1995 in 93 starts.

At age 28, Keselowski is the eighth-youngest competitor to win a first NASCAR Sprint Cup championship. Keselowski previously won the 2010 NASCAR Nationwide Series title, owner Penske's first in NASCAR. He joins Bobby Labonte as the only drivers to win both a NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship.

After experiencing mechanical problems in two of the first three regular season races, Keselowski's No. 2 Penske Racing Dodge won at Bristol Motor Speedway to begin a steady march toward the top 10. Backed by championship crew chief Paul Wolfe, Keselowski won three times during the regular season and entered the Chase seeded fourth.

A victory at the Chase-opening Chicagoland Speedway race, followed by another at Dover International Speedway, boosted Keselowski from contender to co-favorite with Johnson.

Dodge won its fifth series championship, and first since 1975 with Richard Petty.

Dodge Information


Share This Photo X