Amazon Prime Day 2024

Formula E gets ready in Malaysia; Celtics owner invests in EV race series

"There are no points for second place" may be a long-repeated mantra among anyone involved in competitive racing (or Top Gun fanatics, for that matter), but the folks of Putrajaya, Malaysia, seem to be OK with that position. City leaders recently feted an official agreement for Putrajaya to host the second-ever Formula E race, which will pit super-fast electric vehicles against each other on city streets.

The official party celebrating the race, which will take place next Octover 18, included more than 150 guests, most notably Malaysian Prime Minister Dato' Sri Mohd Najib Tun Razak. Organizers say the race will include a bunch of the city's landmarks and will help boost Malaysia's credibility among the eco-tourism set.

"We aim to help make Formula E a worldwide sensation" - Celtics managing partner Wyc Grousbeck

Speaking of big names, a group of co-owner of the Boston Celtics is putting $21 million into Formula E, and Celtics managing partner Wyc Grousbeck told the AP, "We aim to help make Formula E a worldwide sensation. With our upcoming races in the centers of Los Angeles and Miami, we will help showcase the power and promise of sustainable vehicle technology."

The FIA Formula E Championship unveiled its provisional calendar in September for the debut racing season. The circuit will begin next September with a race in Beijing. In addition to Malaysia, next October will include a race in Hong Kong, while the first Formula E race in the US will be in Los Angeles on Valentine's Day 2015. Buenos Aires, Berlin and London are also on the Formula E docket for its first full season. Check out Formula E's press release on the Malaysian party below.
Show full PR text
Malaysia officially launches Putrajaya Formula E race

Prime Minister of Malaysia, The Honourable Dato' Sri Mohd Najib Tun Razak, has today (18 December) officially launched the FIA Formula E Championship in Putrajaya and witnessed the signing of the City Agreement between Tan Sri Aseh Bin Haji Che Mat for the city of Putrajaya and Dato' Sri Johann Young, to officially host the second Formula E race on 18th October 2014.
The event, held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), was hosted by Dato' Seri Johann Young, a founding partner and investor of series promoters Formula E Holdings and Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E.

More than 150 invited guests including media, corporate and government sectors were on hand to attend the launch which also saw the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car on display – only the second time the fully-electric race car has been shown in Asia. Guests, which also included the Chairman of the Automobile Association of Malaysia YM Tunku Datuk Mudzaffa Bin Tunku Mustapha, were also treated to a sneak preview of the proposed Putrajaya circuit layout which incorporates many of the city's main landmarks.

The Malaysian Prime Minister said: "I am delighted to be here today for the official launch of the 2014 FIA Formula E race in Putrajaya and to witness the unveiling of this remarkable car. I believe this event will be a very significant event, not only from the perspective of this race exclusively for electric cars, but for Malaysia it is a testimony of your confidence in us hosting this momentous event. Electric cars are the cars of the future and represent the next generation of vehicles for the global community."

Alejandro Agag, speaking about the decision to hold the race in Malaysia, said: "Malaysia is a great tourism destination and one of the major players in the world of eco-tourism. And given Malaysia's foray into car manufacturing, and experience in the logistics of motor sports, the country is indeed an ideal choice. Of course we are delighted to have the full commitment of the Government of Malaysia and the local authorities for their support and for welcoming us here today."

The launch also included a special forum on Formula E and sustainability attended by the Mayor or Putrajaya YBhg Tan Sri Aseh, YBhg Dato' Sri Johann Young, Alejandro Agag and representatives from Formula E's partners including DHL, TAG Heuer, Michelin and Renault.

Formula E is a new FIA Championship using electric single-seater race cars capable of speeds in excess of 225km/h. The series will compete in the heart of 10 of the world's leading cities including Putrajaya, Los Angeles and London. Ten teams, each with two drivers, will go head-to-head to create a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fan whilst accelerating the electric vehicle market and promoting sustainability.

Share This Photo X