The electric ton, she is broken. The magical 100 mile per hour lap speed was shattered during the SES TT Zero when Michael Rutter officially completed a circuit of the Isle of Man's 37.73-mile Snaefell mountain course at an average 104.056 mph aboard the 2012 edition of the Team Segway MotoCzysz E1pc. Besides securing a place in history, Rutter and MotoCzysz also collected a check for £10,000 ($15,490 U.S. at today's rates).

While he was first, he was not alone. John McGuinness crossed in 2nd on the Mugen Shinden with a 102.215 mph lap and Mark Miller completed the trinity with the other MotoCzysz E1pc, making the trip at an average 101.065 mph.

Rob Barbour crossed the line on the TGM IOT entry in fourth, well below the ton, but at least he crossed. Proving that building a reliable electric racing motorcycle isn't easy, of the 18 bikes entered into the contest, only eight actually made it to the start line and only half of those finished.

We can only hope the other teams are better prepared next year, as the performances from the top teams will surely increase. As it is, battery packs – really the most limiting factor – have increased from around 10 kWhs in 2009 to as large as 20 kWhs in this latest contest.

While we'll have to wait a little longer for more complete video coverage of the event, we have a couple clips of fly-bys you can check out be simply scrolling below.

Share This Photo X