Stats confirm effectiveness of graduated licensing
The restrictions include a mandatory amount of driving time with their parents (50 hours is the norm), as well as being required to hold their permit for a set amount of time (usually six months) before they can obtain a license. Once licensed, they are not allowed to drive during certain hours of the night and are unable to carry passengers under a specified age.
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) has just released figures that confirm that "Graduated Licensing" is having a positive effect. In California, the per-capita crash rate dropped by 23 percent overall, with nighttime crashes being reduced by 27 percent and crashes with other teens in the car falling a substantial 38 percent.
Changes to this law have taken place in California since its introduction, which may also had an effect on these stats. Other studies have shown a similar decline in crash rates, with few exceptions.
So beyond what's already been done, is there a 'next step' to reduce teen crash rates?
- Our favorite reveals from the LA Auto Show
- You can probably get a great deal on a new Fiat
- 2016 Holiday Gift Guide
- Is it time to buy a Pontiac Aztek?
- Fastest-depreciating cars in the United States
- Most and least efficient car companies
From Our Partners
Here's all the footage of Ken Block's Top Gear Gymkhana segment that didn't make the showWatch Video