2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser Reviews

Toyota FJ Cruiser Owner Reviews (22)

5.0 out of 5

A rugged aggressive SUV that stands out from the generic pack

2017-01-10 07:43:47

I am probably a bit biased in my love for this SUV-its unique style,suicide doors and long retro styled body make it a looker anywhere it is parked. I was lucky enough to find a radiant red trail teams 2012 version a couple years ago and have loved it even more since I have it. This is/was my absolute dream car and since it was both monetarily and inventory wise available I saw an opportunity and grabbed it. There are some drawbacks for some which I readily acknowledge like its poor gas mileage17-20 mpg, the wicked blind spots, not being very family friendly and limited haul/interior space BUT those of us who love it-really love it and can overlook these flaws and appreciate it for the style and awesome off road capability it allows. Since Toyota stopped all production in 2014 or so it has become even more cherished by myself and other FJ enthusiasts. It's a cool and retro looking ride with some nice modern comfort features without being too fancy. Although I personally have yet to take it off road I know it has the capability to do so and gives me the confidence if necessary to do so.

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser


I love my FJ

2011-04-05 05:46:53

Its not for everyone, BUT if your looking for a all terrain, all weather vehicle that’s easy to clean, tough as nails, Go where ever you want to go to vehicle, this is it, If you want something that there is normally only one or 2 of you in the truck full time, but can bring on another 2 or 3 if you have to, this is it. You don’t get a FJ if you’re hauling Grandma in the backseat all the time. You don’t get the FJ if you’re looking for a high MPG long distance highway car. You get the FJ, if you want s truck that you don’t have to worry about weather, or road conditions, I can not believe just how easy this thing runs thru deep snow. I cant tell you how many people I have pulled out, many times now, without even leaving the truck, they see me coming and have there tow strap waiting, and just hook up to the front hook or rear hitch depending on my position, I pull them out, they unhook there strap with a smile and a wave and off I go. You want a FJ Cruiser if you want a tough brick of a truck, I average 18 in the city, but I am easy on the gas, but also do some 4X4ing and sometimes warm her up on the ice cold days. She does warm up quickly; the local brand name car wash has no problems with her and the Toyota roof rack. I have not decided on whether I am going to take the back seats out yet, many FJ owners do. In the previous 5 years, I don’t think the back seat of my Luxury car was ever used. The FJ is a nice truck, very quiet around town, but it is not a plush truck, you wipe this down, very very easy to clean,there is a NO polish rule for this thing. I am not sure of the word, but you do get the sense of a very tough, or firm, sturdy, piece of heavy duty equipment here. I have not even started in when this thing gets off road, or back woods, wow this think is a serious off road bad boy, Bottom line, you want a SUV you don’t have to worry about ANYTHING, Toyota FJ Cruiser even received a 2011 Best Resale Value Award from Kelley Blue Book's. Its just a Good truck

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Wanted fun--Got fun!

2010-03-28 16:55:18

I was tired of ho-hum vehicles. The old 08 Highlander was a perfect runner, but just a station wagon on steroids. Drove the FJ at Larry Miller Toyota in PHX. They are a good honest place to shop. Ask for Troy in the internet sales. The ride was impressively smooth, and you sit up high and it feels very secure. Got it just for fun and the ice and snow of No. Ariz. It gets better than the sticker on mpg's. But mostly I have a vehicle that is so fun to drive. I never got this feeling from sedans and CUV's. We plan to keep this silver beauty forever and a day. If you get one-pay the extra and get the JBL 6 disc stereo-it is fantastic. Even my bad ears hear all the words LOUD and crispy clear. If you just want to 4X4 all the time get a Jeep, but if you want to 4X4 with the best of them, but mostly just go to work and and occasional trip,get the Toyota FJ Crusier. I have a very bad back, but a 4 hour drive in it is no problem.There are some blind spots but if you use the side mirrors right and check the rear view camera you'll have no problems.

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Toyota FJ - Great vehicle.

2010-03-15 19:14:24

I purchased a used, certified and well kept up 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser at a Toyota dealership w/53,000 miles. I now have 68,000 miles, and it has performed beautifully under all conditions...from 108 degrees above to 8 degrees below. I have a small sportscar also, but the FJ performs beautifully in the Portland rainy weather, so I have been driving it more than I originally intended. I am also an avid hiker, skier and explorer, and the FJ gets me to any trailhead or mountain regardless of the weather. I far prefer it to any Jeep I test drove, plus the reliability is unquestioned. The ride, with the new M/S Michelins is smooth and controlled. Mileage is about 17-18 MPG, but I knew that going in. This vehicle does what is promises it will do. It is not like my sportier vehicle, nor a luxury vehicle...but it performs very well under all conditions. The A/C and the heat work great, and once I bought the "fish-eye" side mirrors, I do fine backing up with no problem...just a little slower than other vehicles. The sonar back up system works great...plus, I hear the newer FJ's have back up cameras now, if you have that concern. It is very highly rated for safety, and I really enjoy driving it. I detailed it when I bought it (Wilsonville, OR. Toyota was a nightmare), and I added PIAA high Intensity front and rear lights, better tires, and numerous little add-ons that make it look and perform better for the purpose that I intended...to get me up and back from hiking, snowshoeng and exploring. I bought the Voodoo blue, and you gotta love it or hate it, and I love it. I don't consider it a good looking vehicle, but a cool looking one, and besides, I didn't buy it for looks, I bought for the "safety-utilitarian-reliability-get me to where the fun is" aspect it provides. This is a great vehicle, and I expect a very good resale value when I do eventually sell it. Drive it side by side your other choices...it impressed me so much more than any worthy competitor out there.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

FJ Cruiser

2010-02-17 08:28:38

SUV rides nice. the problem is the limited view. this is a serious problem. I bought the fj because I thought it was solid and safe. You really need to be alert of vehicles and pedistrians. I've alerted Toyota with this problem. Also a gas eater. Ride is smooth, handles the road nicely.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

The Great FJC

2009-08-18 23:50:49

The FJ Cruiser is one of a kind: style, off road ability, reliable, and 19MPG for me overall the past year.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Not too bad

2009-07-30 17:45:15

My GF bought one of these and it's been pretty nice. The ride is good, (but the seats are too hard on long trips), the interior has lots of room but feels cramped because the lack of visibility makes it feel like you're in a cave. I had one of the original FJ40s which didn't have this problem so Toyota lost something in the modernization. Also, both of us have banged our knees multiple times getting in - there is a section of dash that sticks out into the entry and gets your knees just about every time even if you know it's there. Offroad is great and it turns on a dime, but the lack of visibility to the outside world makes it a very nervous commuter. If I was going seriously offroad I'd probably take my Nisan pickup just because of the visibility issues. Mileage has been okay, pretty much a constant 18mpg no matter what you do to it. It does take premium gas which is something the salesman lied to us about. The radio is pretty good, and the "aux" input is great, but it could use a few more power (12v) outlets. All and all it's a nice truck and we're pretty happy with it. But... did I mention the outside visibility is really bad?

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Review of 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

2009-04-29 00:02:30

I tested out many vehicles before I bought this one. I found that the Fj was quieter, better built ( no plastic rattle) Spacious and build solid. It will turn on a dime, Nissan can't compare! No problems with unit. Love this car!

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Love my FJ

2009-04-17 08:42:33

Really nice vehicle. You can wash out the rubber floors easily. (Never really did understand the need for carpet in a vehicle). Handles very well in the snow and ice. Gas mileage isnt so great but you know that going into this vehicle. It is hard to see backing up too but I have rear parking assist which is an option. Those two things are really the only pitfall. If you live anywhere there is a lot of snow in winter months, I highly recommend checking this one out.

2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser

2008 FJ Cruiser

2009-03-07 07:59:32

Ok, first off the MSRP is for a stripped down 4 cyclinder. Expect to pay around $28,000 for a 6 cyclinder with option packages. This vehicle was designed for off road use before road use. Everything about it is heavy duty. Personally I like the retro styling of the FJ. The ride is comfortable and the performance is great. I wouldent trade this vehicle for the world. I love it. I traded a 2004 VW Beetle for this SUV. My insurance is $108 a year cheaper then the VW was. Aprox $1,000 a year. That alone tells you what a safe vehicle the FJ Cruiser is. Reality gas milage is 17 to 20 with the 6 cylinder engine and 6 speed manual transmission.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: