2010 Mercury Mountaineer Reviews

Mercury Mountaineer Owner Reviews (4)

2.5 out of 5

2010 Mountaineer

2010-02-18 21:31:20

This 2010 Mountaineer replaces a 2006. Same car, just a little better. Transmission shifts are smooth and sooner(lower rpm's) than the '06. Doors feel more solid when closing. Road and engine noise less noticeable in cabin. Sync system is a really nice feature, but the jury is still out on the navigation. Data in the '06 GPS was much more accurate and the routes were smart. 20" wheels are a great new look, but tires could be a little wider. Safety features are great as we found out in the '06. It was in a very violent head on crash with rollover and family walked out with no injuries, just slight bruising from seatbelts. Even though car had RSC it still rolled. However, I was confident enough in this vehicle to put my family back in one. Great value for a mid-sized SUV. Easier to park than some smaller SUV's.

2010 Mercury Mountaineer


Krazy Kars Review

2009-12-09 12:46:10

2009 Mercury Mountaineer

2005 mercury mountaineer

2009-11-29 15:46:44

I bought my mountaineer back in february of this year with 67,000 miles on the clock. 9 months later i have almost 84,000 on her. i love this truck. the only downfall is the fuel economy. i get around 9-10mpg in the city. on the highway its not bad sometimes i get as much as 22mpg. i usually get between 220-300 miles out of a full tank depending on my driving. the 4.6 has ALOT of power and ALOT of torque. the repairs i made so far are: 2 rear hubs, abs speed sensor. and now my front suspension is squeaking. my mechanic said its the sway bar bushings...easy fix. other than that i cant really complain. i would buy another one in a heartbeat.

2005 Mercury Mountaineer

August 4, 2009

2009-08-04 11:08:24

Just bought a V-6 2WD Premier and love it. Pulled our 3,500lb power boat yesterday, travels great, feels solid, great vehicle for us and is safe on the road. Has a 3rd seating row too, ******* not too big. The Nav and Sync system is mind blowing.Price wise and quality wise for us, we found it was the best car compared to what we shopped around and priced at other car companies(no need to mention). We are just glad our hunt is over. Gas mileage is very good on the road, depending on travel, so we are fine with that for what we are getting with this car.We think Ford has done a great job and we are very happy with our purchase.

2009 Mercury Mountaineer

Transmission Problems......and parking?

2009-01-13 17:18:46

I bought this truck, used @ 40,000 mi. It seems when you come to a stop, it slams or bounces. Even when you creep to a stop. And when you accelerate, it hesitates, jerks, hesitates again, then goes. I took it to the dealer, and they couldnt find anything wrong with the trans, (the computer cant find anything either..of course) but they said it was the throttle cable. After they fixed that it was worse then before. I keep getting dicked around by them like they dont want to fix it because they know its @#$%*&! And here's a nice picture for you.... Its Christmas Eve and Im at menards, I park the car, lock it with the remote, and walk to the door. Then i hear..click,click,click,click,click,click....I turn around and its rolling backward! BAM!! it hits a another SUV and my bumper gets cracked and the rubber guard and metal strip that says "mercury" are bent and wrecked. The other car had no damage. You cant take the key out unless its in PARK. I will never buy a FORD again!!!

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

More transmission problems

2008-09-22 21:37:01

I too have experienced problems with the transmission. At 35,000, I experienced the most bizzare thing ever in my 35 years driving. While it was raining, I came to a stop sign and when I went to accelerate, nothing happened. No power to the transmission and the idiot lights came on indicating there was a problem. Thus the name "idiot lights". After shifting the tranny amoung the gears, the car finally was moving at 2 mph. I contacted the dealer that I leased the car from, Country Lincoln, in Huntington, NY, who was useless. I had the car towed to another local dealer who at least attempted to help. They kept the car for twodays without finding anything mechanically wrong and claimed that the computer did not register the problem. After that incident I has experienced frequent feelings that when coming to a stop on the highway, the car would jerk before coming to a complete stop. I guess that after all of these years FORD still stands for "Fixed Or Repaired Daily". My saving grace is that I leased this and Ford will be getting their problem back. Unfortunately, I planned on giving this car to one of my kids. No way now. I guess I will look to GM or go back to the Japanese makes. Keep away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

STAY AWAY FROM MOUNTAINEER

2008-08-15 13:06:35

I just want to say that I had trouble with the transmission. If you didn't make a "full" stop and sit a minute, the tranny would hit into gear. It felt like you were getting hit from behind. Upon take off - it would almost lose all power and all of a sudden your head would jolt back and it would take off. I also had a leak coming out of the domelight (the ************ AND the buttons on each side)and when you would make a turn, it would "pour" out of either button depending on which way you turned. Now it leaks on both sides where the sunvisor screws in. I'm surprised my payments do not include charges for a built-in swimming pool. The dealer claimed it was a TSB (tech service bulletin) for the drain tubes (they weren't long enough)(that was after the third time back for the same problem-when they claim they fixed it by putting in longer drain tubes). Well, I still have the same problem and now the vehicle stinks like rotten eggs when I turn on the heat or a/c. The other day, I noticed there was water dripping on the passanger side, right side of the glove compartment. I've had it with this truck. I'm glad it is a lease and I get to return it within 2 more months. Yes, I am turning in early just to get rid of it. I HATE THIS VEHICLE!!!!!

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Review of 2008 Mercury Mountaineer

2008-08-02 07:51:14

Great SUV, after test driving other competitive models, you just can't beat the Mountaineer for it's smooth ride. I know why you can't find a used one and have to buy new, who would wan't to give it up. I never felt so safe in any of my autos as I have in the Mountaineer. Never a problem mechanically. Best SUV on the road as far as I am concerned.

2008 Mercury Mountaineer

STAY AWAY FROM THIS MODEL - HORRIBLE TRANSMISSION

2007-10-05 06:38:04

After about 4000 miles the 6 speed transmission in this V8 AWD Mountaineer began slipping and hesitating. Then around 8000 miles the tranmission would slam into 1st gear when slowing to a stop. It would slam so hard it felt like I was being hit from behind. The dealer has tried to fix this problem now for the past 13,000 miles, but Ford Motor Company has yet found a "fix" that will work. Now the vehicle will shift abrutly from 1st to 2nd gear when starting up from a stop. This harsh shifting does not happen every time, but when it does it is very annoying. Ford Motor Company refuses to stand by their product and will not even replace the vehicle if they can not find a solution, even though the problem began before the Lemon Law expired. I know many other owners of this particular model are having the same problem with no solutions. If it wasn't for the transmission the Mountaineer is a very nice SUV, which many great features. I'd buy another if it wasn't for the transmission or the way Ford refuses to back its product. Stay clear of this model until the problem is fixed.

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Mercury has one Awesome SUV

2007-08-04 09:26:32

The Mercury Mountaineer is a great suv the ride and handling is excellent the V8 power is superb and the comfort is great and from what i can see the leather and other interior materials are great quality and the navigation system is cool and the power moon roof and the Sirius Satellite Radio are awesome and the rear parking sensors come in handy when parallel parking and i am just really happy with my Mountaineer its been great so far not a problem and everything on it works great and its a great price for what you get mine was only $38,500 and the Honda Pilot with all the same equipment was over $40,000 so i got a great vehicle and a great deal i highly recommend the Mercury Mountaineer V8 ..

2008 Mercury Mountaineer

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: