2019 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews

Chevrolet Equinox Owner Reviews (28)

4.5 out of 5

I'm DONE with Chevy & GM!

2018-05-20 03:11:50

I was SHOCKED when I found this site & saw such high reviews for the 2010 Equinox. It didn't take long to realize most of them are from 2011-2013 before Nox owners realized what a nightmare it is to own these SUV's! I'll start from the beginning... We purchased this truck used in 2013 with 20K miles. When we test drove it we noticed the loud engine but thought "What could be wrong? It has 20K miles on it!" When we hopped on the interstate after purchasing to head home with the windows rolled down the vibrating, shuttering noise it made hurt our ears so bad, we've never made that mistake again! A few months later, I noticed the inside of the driver door was starting to rust. We've done several things to cover, stop & prevent the rust (b/c the dealership wants a fortune to paint it) but nothing has worked. Other than that & the thousand dollars we spent to replace the 80K mile dry-rotting Michelin tires that came on it @ 25K miles everything else was pretty good, for a little while. Our 1st few oil change stickers (from the dealership) were 5K mile stickers (a nice break) considering they use Synthetic oil & it's $100 for an oil change. After a few oil changes the sticker was marked to come back @ 3K miles & when I questioned it (@ my next oil change in 3K miles) I was informed my oil was a little low @ my previous oil change & my vehicle could have an excessive oil consumption issue. Nice to know 3 months later, since no one bothered to mention that! So we did 3K mile oil changes for a while (& my husband checked it constantly.) I asked every time if it was low & I was told each time it was not low. Finally after several 3K mile changes they went back to every 5K miles. We purchased an expensive 3 year 35K mile warranty & less than 30 days after it was out I pulled out of my parking space & the truck jerked, idled really low & died. I re-started it & when I got to the stop sign it died again. It died every time I stopped on my drive home (that was scary!) I called the dealership 1st thing the next morning & when I explained what it did to the guy he said "Huh, we've heard a lot of things but I've never heard of anything like that!" So after paying out of pocket to have it towed to the shop, they were puzzled for an entire week while looking the truck over. The guy finally called me back & said my truck had an excessive oil consumption issue (a very costly repair!) And it was TWO WEEKS total for diagnosis & repair, in a rental car I had to pay for out of pocket! Moving forward I have complained several times about the loud engine & they can't find anything wrong. They act like I'm being picky & UN-reasonable for complaining about it. I am worried b/c what I know in 2018 about this 2010 Chevy is that a massive amount of customers have had to replace these engines! And GM knows it but Chevy refuses to recall them!!! Early last week my truck shifted hard a few times & I was concerned so I scheduled an appointment @ the dealership (1st available date was 1 week from the day I called to schedule) Not a good sign if you ask me! I didn't drive it as much as possible & on my way to the dealership my service engine light came on. They did an hour of diagnostic testing ($110) & it threw (1) code for the Camshaft Sensor. The guy told me it will be $185 to replace it & that may or may not solve the hard shifting issue. He also told me upon inspection of my transmission they found the Trans Half Case is leaking, the fluid is burnt & has metal shavings in it. He quoted me $2998 for tear down + ??? additional cost for failed components or $4560 for a new transmission with a T H R E E Y E A R Warranty!!! This is also an issue with 2010's & Chevy is aware of that too & again refuses a recall! There are hundreds if not thousands of customers dealing with this issue too! I am absolutely DISGUSTED with Chevy! My truck has 75K miles on it & needs another "Throw Away Transmission!" That's exactly what Chevy's using for parts... THROW AWAY ENGINES & TRANSMISSIONS!!! Never again, I am done with Chevy & GM!!! ***** I'm looking into a Class Action Lawsuit!*****

2010 Chevrolet Equinox


Great SUV!!

2017-03-21 21:25:58

Very dependable, awesome features, and very roomy. Love it! My only gripe is, no armrests

2012 Chevrolet Equinox

2016 Equinox LT

2017-01-09 13:51:30

Owned for 8 months & very pleased with ride & handling No issues at all Only wish it had a low warning light for windshield solvent Would recommend this car & size fits in perfect between Escape & Edge

2017 Chevrolet Equinox

wonderful SUV

2015-12-30 20:00:59

I bought a 2012 Equinox LT at end of 2011 since then I been driving this cute little thing everyday. It is a very wonderful driving machine, easy to maneuver and very light weight, the only thing is the horse power, sometimes when you want accelerate it shows a little slow. But, since I am retired, only doing grocery and shopping trip, this does not bother me at all. Very reliable is another plus, no matter is mechanic or electrical equipment, it does not give me trouble at all. I love this car and highly recommend to anyone who enjoy driving.

2016 Chevrolet Equinox

Ms

2015-12-23 19:57:48

no 3.6, V6 for FWD turned me off to this car

2016 Chevrolet Equinox

2011CHEVROLET EQUINOX

2015-11-12 17:32:24

Worst car we have ever owned- Always some problem and at least 600-900 to fix- Oil consumption recall cracked manifold bad catalytic converter. Dealer is asking me to pay for the manifold and converter repair even though the oil consumption recall caused these issues. Cant seem to get anywhere with anyone at GM and nobody will give me their last name- Stay away from this Chevy unless you like being broke down or just plain broke.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2011 Chevy Eqinox

2015-11-02 22:43:25

Have had this car since 2012 and loved it at first. Then I started noticing a rubbing sound in the power steering about 3 years later. It got worse over time (1 month) and I took it to a local dealer. Before that, I had my husband take a look at the power steering reservoir to see if it need fluid. It was bone dry. My husband asked me if I noticed any leakage of anything. It was obvious that there was no sign on the garage floor or where I parked it for work. He traced the line back and there was no sign of leakage. He then fillled it up, but there was no difference in the rubbing noise and no leakage was noticed. The first appointment, they had two mechanics look at it and both said they did not know what the problem was. The second appointment I was told that we would have to replace the power steering gear and possibly the power steering pump. I questioned the reason the gear at 46,000 miles would have needed replacement at my cost of $1025.00. It would seem to be a bad part on Chevy's part. There was no answer to that. I then questioned why the pump needed replacement to the tune of $450.00, as we could find no leakage to the reservoir and again, it was not clear as to why that also needed replacement. I think after looking online, that I was not the only person to have this problem. No one seemed to be getting a clear answer to this problem. According to GM, they could not give an answer as to why this was happening, but would let the consumer know when they figured it out. Obviously, they still haven't figured it out. After I thought about it, if the reservoir was dry, with no leakage in site, maybe it was never filled in the first place, and no one ever checked it when the oil was changed timely by Chevy. Then the gear would have worn with no fluid going to it. Then I was quoted $450.00 to change the pump. I have never had this kind of problem with any car I have owned. I really feel that as a consumer I am being pushed around as no one seems to know what the problem is, but they are quick to collect your monies. Also I was told this was not a safety issue, they felt. To me anything to do with steering is a safety issure..... This will be the last Chevy I own.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

former loyal GM buyer

2015-05-24 10:09:22

We ordered the 2010 equinox nothing to special, chrome package, leather seats, and the boat anchor four cylinder motor. My wife loves the car, it's comfortable, the controls are where they should be, It looks nice, good cargo space, handles and drives good, within a month the motor sounds like a diesel but no problems are found, after continuous complaining a "technition" said an notice was put out on this problem and the cam balancers were replaced, seemed to fix it for a while, then the sound returned, the compass quit working no problem was found but not repaired until 36.5k miles just out of warranty the computer dies, GM was nice enough to meet us half-way on the repair and the compass worked again. The engine continues to sound like a diesel, and my wife continues to complain to the shop, they say the oil is dirty and low , "this is a vehicle they've serviced from day one on every scheduled service required by the manufacturer and all oil changes done by them at 3k miles", so they pull the motor replace pistons and rings and the cam balancers again, apparently the cylinder walls were not damaged or crank-shaft main bearings worn or any other part contaminated by the failure of the worn pistons and rings, amazing. The bottoms of the doors are rusting at 50k miles, car was washed once a weak since new, the best thing was the tires wore evenly and lasted for 80k miles, GO Michalin. This would have been a awesome vehicle if it had the bulletproof 2004 3800 motor in it, but then there would have been no money to be made in repairs. This was a short version of mechanical failures, i'm done with GM a company I've been loyal to for 30 years, I'm buying American, I'm buying a Toyota.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Traded 2009 Chevy Malibu for 2011 Chevy Equinox

2015-04-18 01:52:18

So far so good. I really like the interior. This is the upgraded LTZ model, with all the bells and whistles. It gets about the same fuel economy as my malibu (23-25mpg on mixed driving) I have the 2.4L 4 cylinder. Acceleration is a bit sluggish. ECO mode is nice on gas but makes accelerating a never ending process. Overall, I really like it...but ask me again in a year.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Great Vehicle...

2014-11-02 11:06:26

I have had my Equinox, LTZ since June of 2013. It's a great vehicle. Handels well, especially on mountain roads. Good gas milage. Lot's of interior room. Excellent options on the LTZ model. I'm very happy with the vehicle. It's 1 of the models Chevrolet hasn't recalled. You won't go wrong on your Equinox purchase. .

2015 Chevrolet Equinox

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: