2018 BMW X5 Reviews

BMW X5 Owner Reviews (16)

4.0 out of 5

BMW X5 2013 is a level above the perfect car

2012-07-10 15:06:16

The X5 hugs the road, makes you feel special when you take your seat and starting the car is just the beginning of the best driving experience you will ever have. We got 24 MPG on our first road trip, after adjusting the seats and lumbar enjoyed such comfort that we took back roads just to experience how good the X5 really is. Very spacious in both the front and back seat areas with all the comforts of home--the greatest compliment came from my 91 year old mother-in-law once we completed our 400 mile non-stop trip to her home and took her for a ride to a nice dinner--she said "I feel special this back seat is nice, comfortable and has a lot of room." We are very happy--$63,000 well spent.

2013 BMW X5


Review of 2002 BMW X5

2011-03-25 15:03:09

I have had my 2002 X5 for many years. I really like the handling, and the all wheel drive is excellent. But there are electrical problems, and problems with burning out rear light assemblies that are expensive to repair. On the other hand, my 5-speed clutch is original at 135,000 miles.

2002 BMW X5

Review of 2001 BMW X5

2011-01-14 10:16:06

I love my X5 4.4L V8 however, there is ALWAYS something that needs to be fixed . $400-$500 every time is getting to be a bit much, not to mention the time it takes me to take it down to the dealership. I have just turned over 70K miles but this has been on going. I have had other vehicles ( Nisson, Toyotas,Hondas), and never had even close to the amount of repairs as I am having with the BMW. I sold my Nisson at 178K and it was still running perfect..only replaced the brakes and standard minimal things.Really didn't have any troubles with the others. Everytime (1 x a month at least) I swear I'm going to sell my BMW, but it drives so nice.. the last time I took it in I had to wait 3 days cuz the repair shop at the BMW dealership was swamped with cars being repaired!! Has anyone else notice this? or do all BMW owners just get new cars every couple of years?

2001 BMW X5

good car

2010-07-01 20:06:10

bought this car when it was 4 years old. got a great deal compared to bluebook value. love it. everything about it is great. it would be the prefect car, period, if it got 30mpg. BMW repair work is pricey though so make sure you get one that has all the maintenance up-to-date and put away some cash each month to put towards future repairs. right now i have a 700 dollar sensor that needs to be replaced :( yet the car runs fine...

2005 BMW X5

Nightmare!

2010-03-13 20:25:45

This is, I mean WAS my 2nd BMW. Now it's gone. Had it in and out of the shop literally from day one. Mostly same problems-- had two new alternators in as many months. Fun to drive (when it worked) and very, very comfortable. BMW was really nice to buy it back-- now I have a Lexus.

2007 BMW X5

What A Machine!

2010-03-13 14:32:50

I traded my 05 X5 for a new 09 X5 3.5D - wow - a different car altogether - it is turbo charged and the D model gets GREAT mileage. Tischer Auto in Silver Spring, MD, Mike Bogar was THE BEST to do buisness with. The BMW is super comfortable, drives like a jet plane and with our recent record snows up to the rearview mirror the AWD and XDrive pulled me everywhere - it was even FUN to drive in the snow! I LOVE this manchine and dealer!

2009 BMW X5

Review of 2007 BMW X5

2010-01-29 22:42:19

Love this car. This is my third SUV; second luxury vehicle. This one is the most impressive by far. A car worth owning and driving.

2007 BMW X5

2007 X5 and BMW's poor response to recurring issues lost a 20 year customer

2009-09-06 03:52:36

My 2007 X5 4.8 has been nothing but a nightmare and the worse vehicle I have ever owned. I've owned many new BMWs (3, 5, and two 7 series) and all have their own "unique" (sometimes annoying) traits that can be overlooked because of their great performance and driver feedback. The best by far was the 750IL 12 cylinder (never should have traded that car!). However, my X5 is a completely different experience, It is a loser, a huge disappointment in terms of quality control, problems and the worse part is how BMW has handled the issue - which is very poorly. To give a simple perspective on my experience, the vehicle was in for recurring warranty issues 75 days in first two years. Check Engine light errors (and yes, I tighten the gas cap after filling up), starting engine issues, windows that go down/up on own, warning lights that vehicle is dangerous to drive, dripping cosmoline, and a rear hatch door that decides on its own when it wants to stay closed and when it wants to unlatch itself. I have two friends with 07 X5s and both have had recurring problems with cosmoline and check engine lights coming on as well. This is first year of remodeled X5 and HOPEFULLY, BMW will identify the issues and not be in denial over what is in my opinion, the worse car they have ever produced. Unfortunately, BMW's response to my issues has been the most disappointing aspect of my ownership experience. The "lemon" is really the company itself. Perhaps losing so much money over past year has caused BMW to lose focus on customer relations. Or, perhaps BMW's upper management is too detached from the customer and more concerned about their stock option portfolios, but if BMW continues down this road, they will surely lose credibility with more and more long-term loyal (formally) customers like myself. BMW, the time to "up" your customer service is when things are tough...get real if you think customers will spend the kind of money we do on cars with a company that clearly doesn't care.

2007 BMW X5

Review of 2009 BMW X5

2009-09-06 03:35:48

My 2007 X5 4.8 has been nothing but a nightmare and the worse vehicle I have ever owned. I've owned many new BMWs (3, 5, and two 7 series) and all have their own "unique" (sometimes annoying) traits that can be overlooked because of their great performance and driver feedback. The best by far was the 750IL 12 cylinder (never should have traded that car!). However, my X5 is a completely different experience, It is a loser, a huge disappointment in terms of quality control, problems and the worse part is how BMW has handled the issue - which is very poorly. To give a simple perspective on my experience, the vehicle was in for recurring warranty issues 75 days in first two years. Check Engine light errors (and yes, I tighten the gas cap after filling up), starting engine issues, windows that go down/up on own, warning lights that vehicle is dangerous to drive, dripping cosmoline, and a rear hatch door that decides on its own when it wants to stay closed and when it wants to unlatch itself. I have two friends with 07 X5s and both have had recurring problems with cosmoline and check engine lights coming on as well. This is first year of remodeled X5 and HOPEFULLY, BMW will identify the issues and not be in denial over what is in my opinion, the worse car they have ever produced. Unfortunately, BMW's response to my issues has been the most disappointing aspect of my ownership experience. The "lemon" is really the company itself. Perhaps losing so much money over past year has caused BMW to lose focus on customer relations. Or, perhaps BMW's upper management is too detached from the customer and more concerned about their stock option portfolios, but if BMW continues down this road, they will surely lose credibility with more and more long-term loyal (formally) customers like myself. BMW, the time to "up" your customer service is when things are tough...get real if you think customers will spend the kind of money we do on cars with a company that clearly doesn't care.

2009 BMW X5

Enjoying!

2009-03-06 11:34:13

Excellent choice to change.

2009 BMW X5

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: