2010 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews

2010 Equinox Owner Reviews (28)

4.5 out of 5

I'm DONE with Chevy & GM!

2018-05-20 03:11:50

I was SHOCKED when I found this site & saw such high reviews for the 2010 Equinox. It didn't take long to realize most of them are from 2011-2013 before Nox owners realized what a nightmare it is to own these SUV's! I'll start from the beginning... We purchased this truck used in 2013 with 20K miles. When we test drove it we noticed the loud engine but thought "What could be wrong? It has 20K miles on it!" When we hopped on the interstate after purchasing to head home with the windows rolled down the vibrating, shuttering noise it made hurt our ears so bad, we've never made that mistake again! A few months later, I noticed the inside of the driver door was starting to rust. We've done several things to cover, stop & prevent the rust (b/c the dealership wants a fortune to paint it) but nothing has worked. Other than that & the thousand dollars we spent to replace the 80K mile dry-rotting Michelin tires that came on it @ 25K miles everything else was pretty good, for a little while. Our 1st few oil change stickers (from the dealership) were 5K mile stickers (a nice break) considering they use Synthetic oil & it's $100 for an oil change. After a few oil changes the sticker was marked to come back @ 3K miles & when I questioned it (@ my next oil change in 3K miles) I was informed my oil was a little low @ my previous oil change & my vehicle could have an excessive oil consumption issue. Nice to know 3 months later, since no one bothered to mention that! So we did 3K mile oil changes for a while (& my husband checked it constantly.) I asked every time if it was low & I was told each time it was not low. Finally after several 3K mile changes they went back to every 5K miles. We purchased an expensive 3 year 35K mile warranty & less than 30 days after it was out I pulled out of my parking space & the truck jerked, idled really low & died. I re-started it & when I got to the stop sign it died again. It died every time I stopped on my drive home (that was scary!) I called the dealership 1st thing the next morning & when I explained what it did to the guy he said "Huh, we've heard a lot of things but I've never heard of anything like that!" So after paying out of pocket to have it towed to the shop, they were puzzled for an entire week while looking the truck over. The guy finally called me back & said my truck had an excessive oil consumption issue (a very costly repair!) And it was TWO WEEKS total for diagnosis & repair, in a rental car I had to pay for out of pocket! Moving forward I have complained several times about the loud engine & they can't find anything wrong. They act like I'm being picky & UN-reasonable for complaining about it. I am worried b/c what I know in 2018 about this 2010 Chevy is that a massive amount of customers have had to replace these engines! And GM knows it but Chevy refuses to recall them!!! Early last week my truck shifted hard a few times & I was concerned so I scheduled an appointment @ the dealership (1st available date was 1 week from the day I called to schedule) Not a good sign if you ask me! I didn't drive it as much as possible & on my way to the dealership my service engine light came on. They did an hour of diagnostic testing ($110) & it threw (1) code for the Camshaft Sensor. The guy told me it will be $185 to replace it & that may or may not solve the hard shifting issue. He also told me upon inspection of my transmission they found the Trans Half Case is leaking, the fluid is burnt & has metal shavings in it. He quoted me $2998 for tear down + ??? additional cost for failed components or $4560 for a new transmission with a T H R E E Y E A R Warranty!!! This is also an issue with 2010's & Chevy is aware of that too & again refuses a recall! There are hundreds if not thousands of customers dealing with this issue too! I am absolutely DISGUSTED with Chevy! My truck has 75K miles on it & needs another "Throw Away Transmission!" That's exactly what Chevy's using for parts... THROW AWAY ENGINES & TRANSMISSIONS!!! Never again, I am done with Chevy & GM!!! ***** I'm looking into a Class Action Lawsuit!*****

2010 Chevrolet Equinox


former loyal GM buyer

2015-05-24 10:09:22

We ordered the 2010 equinox nothing to special, chrome package, leather seats, and the boat anchor four cylinder motor. My wife loves the car, it's comfortable, the controls are where they should be, It looks nice, good cargo space, handles and drives good, within a month the motor sounds like a diesel but no problems are found, after continuous complaining a "technition" said an notice was put out on this problem and the cam balancers were replaced, seemed to fix it for a while, then the sound returned, the compass quit working no problem was found but not repaired until 36.5k miles just out of warranty the computer dies, GM was nice enough to meet us half-way on the repair and the compass worked again. The engine continues to sound like a diesel, and my wife continues to complain to the shop, they say the oil is dirty and low , "this is a vehicle they've serviced from day one on every scheduled service required by the manufacturer and all oil changes done by them at 3k miles", so they pull the motor replace pistons and rings and the cam balancers again, apparently the cylinder walls were not damaged or crank-shaft main bearings worn or any other part contaminated by the failure of the worn pistons and rings, amazing. The bottoms of the doors are rusting at 50k miles, car was washed once a weak since new, the best thing was the tires wore evenly and lasted for 80k miles, GO Michalin. This would have been a awesome vehicle if it had the bulletproof 2004 3800 motor in it, but then there would have been no money to be made in repairs. This was a short version of mechanical failures, i'm done with GM a company I've been loyal to for 30 years, I'm buying American, I'm buying a Toyota.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2011-06-27 18:49:21

Overall I love the vehicle,the styling and comfortable ride. I am very disappointed in the gas mileage as it has never been over 26 mpg in ideal driving conditions and I am disappointed in Cheverolet just dismissing me when I ask for an explaination. When I ask the deqaler or Cheverolet if other people have had similar experience with gas mileage they say they have not heard of any other complaints but I see on this website that the low mileage is common.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2010 Equinox

2011-02-05 20:17:42

I bought my 2010 Equinox in Dec of 09 --by Feb 0f 10 I was unhappy. Do not believe the mpg I avreage on hwy abt 22-25. While the cabin has ample room you can not put a lot in the back, I have a family of five and can not fit groceries for one week in the back. Interior is cheap looking and after abt 4mths you will start hearing the rattle. The heat/air is not efficent and you can rarely feel heat from the floor vents and you will toast in the front seats before the second row even warms. All in all --I am trading mine in after only a year.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Absolutely Love It !!!!!

2010-10-27 20:48:34

I was considering the Santa Fe and CR-V but my husband suggested looking at the Equinox. I did and fell in love. I have mine now about six months and really think its the ************** a V6 and really can move. My family owned Chevy;s in many years past and then switched to Japanese cars. I formerly owned a Toyota Sienna and considered another Toyota until the massive recall and my frequent experiences with terrible service at the dealer while having typical repairs. It just turned me off. When I took my vehicle in for it's first oil changed the staff at East Hills Chevrolet in Queens NY the service staff was curteous and made me feel comfortable. My only complaint is there is no indicator light for the windsheild washer fluid..Someone wasn't thinking on this one...I highly recommend this vehicle.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2010-08-10 17:57:53

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Love, Love, Love It !

2010-05-25 15:02:02

I love my Equinox! I am 5' 3" tall, and this is easy to get in and out w/o having to climb on running boards like our Tahoe (which I love, too). Fuel economy is superb, we get about 25 MPG city/hwy with the 4 cyl, FWD 2LT model. I have gotten about 29.5 MPG in just highway driving, and that includes through the mountains that we have here in East Tennessee. I like the rear camera in the mirror, but wish my model had the audible back up chimes. It's VERY quiet, even more so than the Tahoe, and the ride and handling are superb. I was waffling between a Malibu or this one and I am SO glad that I selected the Equinox. We are able to get pretty much anything we need to haul into this vehicle because the rear seats fold down nearly flat. Plenty of cargo area behind the seats for groceries and general running around. It's equipped with bluetooth, and that's really nice for hands free phone dialing. We just moved to a new home and we have used the Onstar Directions and Connections almost on a daily basis. A good deal for $9.95/month with the trial offer. If I spent more time in the vehicle on the highway, I would splurge and get XM radio as well, but right now it is not worth the money to subscribe. Seats are really comfortable, and a friend of ours with an ample derrier was able to get in and be comfortable without feeling much of a squeeze. If this is the "new" GM, then I am all in. Lots of vehicle for a very competitive price, and I am buying American to boot, so I am happy with that. If American car companies can deliver the quality of the imports for a competitive price, I will buy American all day long, and let bygones be bygones.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2010-05-15 20:01:52

Very satisfied with interior room and control..Gas Milage a problem...(all wheel drive)V6.... Good or fair on highway use. Transmission jumpy. Sounds like a truck in labor. Responsive enough.Typical Chevrolet and Chevy failure on body parts assembly...poor match fits .. Needs mudguards as standard...Needs window weather vents as standard. Slope of windows permits rain and water in if windows opened during storm. Water drips on door controls directly and on driver or front passenger., drivers door. Muffler on AWD low to clearance and visable... unsightly... doors lower rubber weather mouldings too flimsy and not secured well Rear window dirts up badly while driving.. claim of 600 miles on a tank of gas may be true due to large tank maybe on 4 cyl..not a V6 .19gall.Otherwise a fairly good vehicle

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2010-05-02 14:34:57

Bought my Equinox in March, have 700 miles on it, don"t drive much. Car sat in the garage for four days and the battery went dead, seems like it should take longer than that, other than that not bad. I am getting 23 miles per gal.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

2010 equinox awd 4 cylinder

2010-04-02 20:37:18

LT w/1LTAll-wheel Drive Sport Utility~********************,000~46-55~Pleasant Prairie~Wisconsin~Suburbs~Easy-Going~Daily Commuting~Family~none~honda crx~really like my equinox and especially the awd have yet to get the tires to spend even after going thru a wisconsin. Do have a problem on cold starts when it gets below 40 degrees, motor runs rough and even misses, until it warms up. took it to the dealer after I first bought they said nothing wrong with it but would keep an eye out for service updates. as the weather got colder the problem got worse, ran rough until 1 to 2 minutes of driving. Had to locate on my own a service bullentin #P00010 called dealer who never did anything to tell them about it, brought it in and had them work on it as per the bullentin. Problem still exists not sure if they did anything as they wouldn't even give me a receipt when I left. Still have problem, called GM's help line after 3 calls finally got a district manager to call me who acknowledge the the cold starting bullentin actually even existed, guess what they referred me back to the dealer. Talked to the dealer spent half the call talking about a transmission bullentin instead of my cold starting problem. The dealers are useless unless the car spits out an error code. by this time it has started to warm up car still has problems on cold start. GM corporate is aware of my problem but won't admit I have a problem and the dealer is useless unless the car diagnostics computer they hook it up to shows it has a problem. still like the car guess I will have to move to Florida year around or sell it before next winter~false

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: