Nico Rosberg, current leader of this year's Formula 1 championship, officially signed on with the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 team for the next two seasons.

Rosberg has been with the Mercedes team since 2010 when the manufacturer returned to the series. Rosberg has earned 19 race wins and 25 pole positions with the team, and is having an excellent season. Signing with Mercedes also means Rosberg will continue to race alongside teammate Lewis Hamilton through to the end of both their contracts in 2018. Three-time F1 champion Lewis Hamilton has also had a superb season this year, and is only one point behind Rosberg in the drivers' championship.

The two drivers have been a dominant force in F1, but with both drivers as close as they are, they've had a few dust-ups, including a minor on-track incident at the Austrian Grand Prix. It has made for some interesting teammate rivalry, to say the least.

Related video:

The List #0650: Drive a Formula One Car

Share This Photo X