Driving on the roadways in New Jersey requires knowledge of the rules of the road in order to be safe and legal. In addition to those laws, however, motorists must also comply with regulations concerning the windshield and windows on their vehicles. Below are the windshield laws in New Jersey that drivers are required to follow.
New Jersey law does not clearly state that a windshield is required on motor vehicles.
Vehicles that have windshields are required to have working windshield wipers that clear rain, snow and other moisture from the glass to provide a clear viewing area.
All vehicles manufactured after December 25, 1968 must have safety glazing material or safety glass for the windshield and other windows. Safety glass is manufactured to provide greater protection against shattering or flying glass if it is struck or broken compared with plate glass.
New Jersey does have laws in place that ensure drivers do not have obstructions in the windshield.
Signs, posters and any other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield.
No signs, posters or other materials can be affixed to any corner lights that adjoin the windshield or front side windows.
Vehicles that are loaded or equipped in such a way as to limit visibility through the windshield cannot be driven on the roadways.
GPS systems, phones and other devices cannot be attached to the windshield.
Only stickers and certificates required by law may be affixed to the windshield.
While window tint on vehicles is permitted in New Jersey, it must comply with the following:
Tint of any kind on the windshield is prohibited.
No tint of any kind is permitted on the front side windows.
Tint of any darkness level may be used on the back side and rear window.
If tint is applied to the rear window, the vehicle must have dual side mirrors.
Exemptions are permitted for those with photosensitivity who must limit exposure to the sun with an approved doctor’s statement.
Cracks and chips
New Jersey does not specify the size or placement of cracks and chips in the windshield.
The laws state only that cracked or chipped windshields should be replaced.
This broad explanation means that any cracks or chips that an officer believes could hinder your clear view while driving could result in a citation.
Failing to comply with the New Jersey laws can result in fines that range from as little as $44 for obstructions and up to $123 for failing to make any repairs to the windshield that are required in order for the vehicle to be safe for you, your passengers and others on the roadways.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Windshield Laws in New Jersey.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.