Louisiana motorists know they are required to follow the rules of the road in order to be safe and legal when driving. In addition to traffic laws, drivers are also required to make sure that their windshield is in compliance with the regulations. The following are the windshield laws in Louisiana with which motorists are required to comply.
All vehicles are required to have windshields when driven on the roadways in Louisiana.
All vehicles must have windshield wipers that can remove rain and other moisture, and that are under the control of the driver.
All windshields and windows must be constructed of safety glass, which is glass that is either treated or manufactured with other materials that are designed to lessen the likelihood of shattering or flying glass in the event of an accident or the windshield being struck.
It is illegal to drive in Louisiana if the view into or out of the vehicle is obscured.
Posters, signs and nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield.
Stickers required by law are permitted if attached in the lower corner of the windshield.
Louisiana allows window tint if it complies with the following requirements:
Windshield tint is permitted providing it is non-reflective and covers only the top five inches of the windshield.
Tint applied to the front side windows must allow 25% of the light to pass through.
Tint applied to the rear windows must allow 12% of light to pass through.
Tint cannot be more than 20% reflective on the front side, back side and rear windows.
Tint installers are required to affix a sticker signifying that the tint is within legal limits on the driver’s side window in the lower right corner.
Any installer who applies window tint that does not comply with these requirements will be fined $1,000 for a first offense. A second offense will result in a fine of $2,000 and any subsequent offenses will result in the installer no longer being authorized to apply window tint in the state.
Any motorist who drives a vehicle that is not in compliance with these requirements will receive a fine of up to $150 for the first offense, up to $250 for a second offense and up to $350 for each subsequent offense.
Cracks and chips
Louisiana has specific regulations concerning cracks and chips in the windshield:
No cracks are permitted in the area directly in the line of the driver’s vision.
No more than two chips, half-moons, nicks or stars larger than half of an inch are permitted within the driver’s line of vision.
No stars larger than two inches are permitted in the area outside of the driver’s side windshield wiper sweep.
No more than two stars greater than one and a half inches in diameter are permitted in the area outside of the driver’s side wiper sweep.
Two or more cracks greater than eight inches are not permitted in the area outside of the driver’s side windshield wiper sweep. Failing to be in compliance with these regulations can result in citations and fines, which are not defined in the Louisiana statutes.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Windshield Laws in Louisiana.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.