In order to legally drive on the roads of Alabama, anyone who lives in the state must have an Alabama driver’s license. There are two types of driver’s licenses in Alabama: a driver’s license, and a learner’s license, or permit. In order to get either, you must follow certain steps. Here is a simple guide to getting an Alabama driver’s permit or license:
A learner’s license, or permit, is part of the Graduated Driver Licensing program in Alabama. This permit allows holders to drive under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, and is sitting in the front seat next to you.
In most cases, the only citizens who must first have a learner’s license in Alabama are teens under the age of 18 who are still considered dependents. These are the specific age requirements for obtaining a learner’s permit:
A 15-year-old may obtain a learner’s permit if they are enrolled in a Driver’s Education or training program, and can successfully pass a written test administered by the Alabama DPS.
A 16-year-old may obtain a learner’s permit by successfully passing a written test administered by the Alabama DPS.
If a teen meets any of the following requirements, they do not need to obtain a learner’s license before obtaining a regular Alabama driver’s license:
- At least 18 years old
- At least 17 years old, and has held a valid driver’s license for six months
- At least 16 years old, and is married and considered the head of household
- Has been legally declared an adult by the state of Alabama
Items to bring
When you arrive at the Alabama DPS to take a driver’s license exam, you must bring certain documents with you. If you are 16 years old or older, you must bring the following items in order to apply for a driver’s permit in Alabama:
Two forms of identification, including one with a photograph. One must be one of the following items:
- Certified U.S. birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- Alabama identification card
- Certificate of naturalization or of citizenship
- Resident alien card
- Valid foreign passport with U.S immigration documentation
- A social security card.
- Proof of graduation or a school enrollment form.
- A $5 testing fee and a $36.25 license fee.
If you are 15 years old, you must bring the following items in order to apply for a driver’s permit in Alabama:
- A certified U.S. Birth Certificate
- A social security card
- Proof of school enrollment or graduation
- A $5 testing fee, and a $36.25 license fee
Passing the exam
The driver’s permit test is made up of questions about the state-specific traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. The Alabama Driver License Manual covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the exam. In order to get extra practice, there is an online practice test available
Students will also be required to pass a vision screening at this time. Passing these steps will earn a student their Alabama driver’s permit.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as How to Get an Alabama Driver's Permit and was authored by Valerie Johnston.