s licensing program that requires all new drivers under 18 years old to begin driving with a learner’s license, in order to practice safe driving under supervision before getting their full driver’s license. To receive the initial driver’s permit, you must follow certain steps. Here is a simple guide to getting a Texas learner’s license:
The learner’s license in Texas may only be issued to a driver who is at least 15 years old, and has passed a state-approved driver’s education course. The driver’s education course must consist of at least 32 hours of in-classroom training, which must be completed before the student may apply for their learner’s license. The three methods for fulfilling this requirement includes: a driver’s education course at a public school; a state certified driver’s training program; and an online driver education course with the assistance of parental supervision.
The learner’s license requires that the driver must be accompanied at all times by a driver who is at least 21 years old, and has a valid driver’s license.
The learner’s license must be held for six months before a driver who is at least 16 years old, and has completed their driver’s education course (including a behind-the-wheel training portion), may apply for a provisional license.
How to apply
If the driver’s education course includes a written knowledge exam, drivers do not have to take a written exam in order to apply for a learner’s license. If the course did not include an exam, one must be take it at the DPS office at the time of application. The following documents must be brought:
A completed application, signed by a parent or guardian
Proof of identity, such as a valid U.S. passport, a state-issued ID card, or a certificate of citizenship
Social Security card
Two documents proving Texas residency, such as a high school transcript or a health insurance card
Verification of enrollment, attendance, or graduation from high school
The certificate or verification from the driver’s education course
They must also take a vision test, and pay the $16 learner’s license fee.
Minor restricted driver’s license
In the event that a minor faces circumstances that necessitate driving alone, such as a disabled family, an illness or financial family hardship, or other such circumstance, they may apply for a restricted driver’s license. This allows a driver who is at least 15 years old, and has completed a driver’s education course to drive until their next birthday without supervision. When applying for this type of license, drivers must bring the following items to the DPS office:
All items listed above for regular licensing
A parent or legal guardian
A completed restricted driver’s license application
A signed form that verifies the completion of driver’s education
A certificate of completion for Impact Texas Teen Drivers
Passing the exam
The Texas learner’s license exam covers all state-specific traffic laws, road signs, and other driver’s safety information, in multiple-choice format. The Texas DPS provides a driver’s manual which has all the information a student needs to pass the written exam.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as How to Get a Texas Driver's Permit and was authored by Valerie Johnston.