In order to begin driving on the roads in Maine, anyone under the age of 21 must go through the graduated driver’s license permit, which begins with a learner’s permit. This driver’s permit allows those who are at least 15 years old to begin driving under supervision, in order to practice safe driving before getting their full driver’s license. In order to receive this permit, you must follow certain steps. Here is a simple guide to getting a Maine driver’s instruction permit:
The learner’s permit in Maine is an instructional driver’s license that allows anyone who is at least 14 years old to begin operating a vehicle legally. When the driver has held the permit for at least six months and has turned at least 16 years of age, they may apply for a standard driver’s license.
While driving with a Maine instruction permit, drivers must be accompanied by an adult who is:
At least 20 years old
Has held a driver’s license for at least two years
While driving during the instructional period, parents or legal guardians must use the Parent’s Supervised Driving Program Guide, given to them by the state BMV, to log the 70 required hours of driving practice that a teen will need to apply for their standard driver’s license. At least ten of those driving hours must have taken place at night.
How to apply
There are two ways to apply for a Maine driver’s permit. All drivers who are under 18 years old are required to take a driver’s education course. Once the driver has completed the course, they may apply for their learner’s permit through the mail. The following items must be included:
A completed application that has been signed by a parent
A $10 check or money order payable to the “Secretary of State”
An original birth certificate (it will be returned)
The certificate of completion from the driver’s education course
For drivers that are over 18 years old, driver’s education is not required. In this case, the driver must come in person to the BMV, and must pass both a written exam and a vision exam (which are both part of a standard driver’s education course). These are the items that must be brought to the exam appointment:
A completed application
Proof of Maine residency and of legal presence in the U.S.
An original birth certificate
A $10 check or money order payable to “Secretary of State”
Passing the exam
The Maine learner’s permit exam is made of questions about the state-specific traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. Maine places special emphasis on laws regarding driving under the influence on the written exam. The Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide has all the information necessary to pass the exam. In order to get extra practice and build confidence before taking the exam, there are many online practice tests available.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as How to Get a Maine Driver's Permit.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.