In the state of Minnesota, there are regulations in place that are designed to protect children when they are travelling in motor vehicles. These laws regulate the use and installation of child safety seats, and they must be obeyed by all motorists.
Summary of Minnesota’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in the state of Minnesota can be summarized as follows:
Children under age eight
Any child under the age of 8 must occupy either a booster seat, or a federally approved car seat, if the child is under 57 inches tall.
Any infant, meaning a child that is under 1 year old and under 20 pounds, must occupy a rear-facing child safety seat.
Some exceptions apply.
If a child is riding in a medical emergency vehicle under circumstances that would make restraint impractical, a child seat does not have to be used.
If a child is riding in a taxi, airport limo, or other “for hire” vehicle, other than a vehicle that has been borrowed or leased by a parent, then the child seat laws will not apply.
Police officers who are transporting children in the course of official duty do not have to use child seats.
If a doctor certifies that a child has a disability that would make the use of a child seat problematic, then a child seat does not have to be used.
School buses are exempt from child seat laws.
If you violate the child seat safety laws in the state of Minnesota, then you could be fined $50.
Child seat laws are in place to protect your child, so it just makes sense to obey them. Don’t risk being fined or compromising your child’s safety – obey the law.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Child Seat Safety Laws in Minnesota and was authored by Valerie Johnston.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.