Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death in the state of Michigan, for adults, and children as well. Adults are required by law to wear seat belts, and they are also required to make sure that any children travelling in their vehicles are properly secured. These laws save lives, and it makes sense to observe them.
Summary of Michigan’s child seat safety laws
In Michigan, there are age-specific laws regarding restraint in motor vehicles. They can be summarized as follows.
Children under four years
Any child under the age of four must be placed in a child seat in the back seat of the vehicle. Until the child is a year old at least, and at least 20 pounds, they must occupy a rear-facing child seat.
Children 30-35 pounds
Children who weigh between 30 and 35 pounds may ride in a convertible child seat, provided that it is rear-facing.
Children four and eight years
Any child between the ages of 4 and 8, or under 57 inches, must be secure in a child restraint device. It can be front-facing or rear-facing.
- It is recommended, although not law, that your child should be secured in a 5-point harness system until he or she weighs at least 40 pounds.
Children 8-16 years
Any child between the ages of 8 and 16 is not required to use a child seat, but must still use the safety belts in the vehicle.
Children 13 years and under
Although not mandated by law, it is still recommended that children under the age of 13 should ride in the back seat of the vehicle.
If you are in violation of the child seat safety laws in the state of Michigan, you can be fined $10 for violations that involve children under the age of 4, and $25 for children under the age of 8 and under 57 inches.
Child seat safety laws are in place to protect your children, so obey them.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Child Seat Safety Laws in Michigan and was authored by Valerie Johnston.