Every state has laws in place regarding the ways in which drivers and passengers have to be secured in motor vehicles. Every state requires that the driver and front seat passengers wear seatbelts. The requirements on seat belt use for passengers in the back seat vary from state to state. And every state has child seat safety laws. So, what are the laws regarding child safety seats in the State of Connecticut?
Summary of Connecticut child seat safety laws
The laws regarding child safety seats in Connecticut can be summarized as follows:
Infants under the age of one year, and under 20 pounds must be in rear-facing child seats. It is recommended, although not law, that children under the age of two should still be kept in rear-facing child seats.
Toddlers have to be in a car seat until they reach a weight of 40 pounds.
Children must use a car seat or a booster seat until they are 7 years old and at least 60 pounds. Both requirements have to be met. Children riding in a booster seat must also use lap and shoulder belts. It is further recommended, although not required by law, that children should use a booster seat until the vehicle’s adult seat belt fits properly on their hips and collar bone.
Everyone in a motor vehicle in Connecticut has to use a seat belt. It is also recommended, although not legally required, that children should occupy the back seat until they reach the age of 13.
If you are in violation of the child seat safety laws in Connecticut, you will be required to pay a $92 fine, and attend a 2-hour course on car seat safety. Buckle up, and secure the kids. It’s the law, and the law is there for your protection.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Child Seat Safety Laws in Connecticut.
Skip the Repair Shop
Our Mechanics Make House Calls
Autoblog is partnering with YourMechanic to bring many of the repair and maintenance services you need right to you.
Get service at your home or office 7 days a week with fair and transparent pricing.