In the state of North Dakota, all drivers are required to carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility,” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle registration.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for North Dakota drivers are as follows:
A minimum of $25,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $50,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $25,000 for property damage liability
A minimum of $25,000 per person, for uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $50,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum of $30,000 for personal injury protection, which covers your medical bills after a car accident, regardless of who was at fault.
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $155,000 to cover bodily injury, property damage, uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection.
North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan
North Dakota insurance providers are required to participate in the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan, which help high-risk drivers get the required legal liability insurance. If you have been previously rejected as a high-risk driver from obtaining coverage, you can apply through this plan in order to drive legally in North Dakota. You can apply to providers who have previously rejected you under this plan as well.
Proof of insurance
All drivers in North Dakota are required to carry proof of insurance whenever they operate a vehicle. You are also required to present proof of insurance to any police officer at a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. Finally, you will need your proof of insurance in order to register your vehicle.
Acceptable proof of insurance documents include:
An insurance ID card from an authorized insurance provider
A letter certifying your coverage under the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan
A certificate of self insurance, which is only available to those who have more than 25 vehicle insured.
If you are found guilty of violating the insurance laws in North Dakota, you could face the following penalties:
A class B misdemeanor charge
A $150 minimum fine
Up to 14 points on your driver’s record if you are uninsured and are involved in an accident.
A suspension of your driver’s license
Required filing of an SR-22, which is a Proof of Financial Responsibility document that ensures the government that you will carry auto insurance for the following year.
If you cannot provide proof of insurance when asked by a police officer, you may also face these penalties:
A $150 minimum fine
Vehicle impoundment until proof of insurance is submitted
For more information, contact the North Dakota Department of Transportation through their website.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in North Dakota and was authored by Valerie Johnston.