The laws in Mississippi states that you do not need vehicle insurance in order to register a vehicle, but you do have to carry insurance in order to legally operate the vehicle.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for Mississippi drivers are as follows:
A minimum of $25,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $50,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $25,000 for property damage liability
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $75,000 to cover bodily injury and property damage.
Other types of financial responsibility
While most drivers in Mississippi pay for insurance plans to cover the requirements of liability to drive, there are two other methods of securing financial responsibility that are acceptable in the state:
You may post a bond for the minimum of $75,000, or
You may make a cash or security deposit with the Mississippi Department of Revenue for the minimum of $75,000
Insurance for high-risk drivers
Mississippi insurance providers can refuse to insure drivers who are deemed high-risk. In order to ensure that all drivers carry the required liability insurance, Mississippi maintains the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan program, or MSAIP. In order to qualify for the MSAIP program, you must have:
A valid Mississippi driver’s license, and
A currently registered vehicle in Mississippi
Any authorized insurance provider in Mississippi can sell an insurance policy to high-risk drivers through the MSAIP program.
Proof of insurance
At the scene of an accident or at a traffic stop, a law enforcement officer may ask to see your proof of insurance. Failure to provide this document can result in penalties. Acceptable proof of insurance documents include:
Insurance ID card from an authorized insurance company
Certificate of insurance from an authorized insurance company
Proof of the bond posted in the minimum required liability amount
Certificate of deposit made with the State Treasurer for the cash or security amount that equals the required liability amount
The state of Mississippi has strict penalties for those found in violation of insurance laws. If you drive without the required minimum amount of liability insurance, you may face these penalties:
A fine of $1,000
A one-year suspension of your driver’s license
If you fail to show your proof of insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer at a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident, you may face a citation and fines.
Reinstating driving privileges
If your license was suspended due to an insurance violation, you can get it reinstated in one of the following ways:
Show proof of insurance at or after the court hearing after you are cited.
File an SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility document, which guarantees that you carry the minimum required insurance.
For more information, contact Mississippi Department of Revenue through their website.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Mississippi and was authored by Valerie Johnston.