Drivers in Louisiana need to be aware of all of the rules of the road, including the rules for where they can and cannot park their vehicle. If they are not careful about where they park, they can expect to get tickets, and they may also find that their vehicle has been towed and brought to the impound yard if they park in the wrong location. There are a number of indicators that will let you know if you are about to park in a location that could get you into trouble.
The colored curb zones
One of the first things that drivers will want to consider when they are parking is the color of the curb. If the curb has paint on it, then you need to know what those colors mean. White paint will indicate that you may stop at the curb, but it must be a short stop. Typically, this means loading and unloading passengers from the vehicle.
If the paint is yellow, it is usually a loading zone. You can unload and load cargo into the vehicle. However, in some cases, yellow may mean that you can’t park at the curb at all. Always look for writing along the edge of the curb, or signs, that will indicate whether you can stop there or not.
If the paint is blue, it indicates that it is a space reserved for handicapped parking. The only people allowed to park in these spaces will need to have a special plate or placard that confirms their ability to park there.
When you see red paint, it means that it is a fire lane. You are not allowed to park in these areas at any time.
Of course, there are a number of other parking laws that you will want to consider, as well, so you do not get into trouble when you stop your car.
Where is it against the law to park?
You are not allowed to park on the sidewalk, or in an intersection. Vehicles are not permitted to park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, and they cannot park within 50 feet of a railroad crossing. You are not permitted to park in front of a driveway either. It is an inconvenience for the people trying to use the driveway, and it is against the law. Do not park within 20 feet of an intersection or crosswalk, and make sure you are at least 20 feet away from the entrance to a fire station. If you are parking on the other side of the street, you need to be at least 75 feet away from the entrance.
Drivers are not allowed to double park, and they cannot park on bridges, tunnels, or overpasses. You can’t park within 30 feet of a traffic signal, stop sign, or a yield sign.
Always look for signage when you are about to park, as this will generally indicate whether you can park in the location or not. Follow the parking laws in Louisiana so you do not run the risk of getting a ticket.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as The Guide to Colored Curb Zones in Louisiana and was authored by Valerie Johnston.