Like a lot of other States, Maine has banned texting and driving for anyone operating a vehicle, no matter what age you are. When it comes to talking on the phone, drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses are prohibited from using a cell phone at all while they are driving, including handheld and hands free devices.
- Drivers who have a learner’s permit or an intermediate license are not allowed to use a cell phone at all
- Texting and driving is illegal for drivers of all ages
- Those who have a regular license have no restrictions when it comes to making phone calls on a handheld or hands free device
A police officer can pull you over if you are caught texting while driving. They do not need any other reason to do so, meaning that you do not have to commit another violation for them to pull you over. If you do get pulled over, they may give you a ticket with a fine attached.
- First offense is up to $310, with a minimum of a $250 fine
- Second offense is $610
The Maine State Police has cracked down on people who are texting and driving. By March of 2015, they had given out 429 texting and driving tickets. The State Police received two federal grants in 2015 to enforce distracted driving. These grants totaled almost $300,000.
The state of Maine is strict about their texting and driving laws and enforce these laws to the best of their ability. If you are caught while texting and driving, you will be obligated to pay large fines. Be sure to know the state and local laws when driving in Maine. It is best to put your phone away while driving, for your safety and the safety of those around you.
This article originally appeared on YourMechanic.com as Cell Phones and Texting: Distracted Driving Laws in Maine and was authored by Valerie Johnston.