Bob Lutz, Jackie Stewart among Automotive Hall of Fame inductees

The Automotive Hall of Fame has announced this year's inductees, and both Bob Lutz (above) and Jackie Stewart (right inset) are among the lucky handful of honorees. A total of ten individuals from automotive past and present are being inducted for 2013. Those include Robert Bamford and Lionel Martin, the duo who founded Aston Martin some 100 years ago, as well as David E. Cole, the founder of the Center for Automotive Research. Cole also served as the director of the Office for the Study of Automotive Transportation.

Bob Lutz likely needs no introduction. He's served as an executive with multiple automakers, but is most well-known for his time at both Chrysler and as General Motors vice chairman. Jackie Stewart, meanwhile, remains one of the world's top racing drivers. Having competed in Formula One, Can Am and nearly every other venue that pits two cars against each other or the clock, Stewart is a legend of motorsport.

The Automotive Hall of Fame is also giving the Distinguished Service Citation Award to four individuals, including Bo Anderson. Anderson is the president and CEO of Russia's GAZ Group and is largely responsible for helping turn the company around. Neil De Koker, founding president of the Original Equipment Suppliers Association will also receive the award as will James McElya. McElya helped steer Cooper-Standard through a difficult restructuring.

Share This Photo X