The podium at the 2009 European Grand Prix – Click above for high-res image gallery

The Federation Internationale de l'Automobile has put together a new points system which has subsequently been adopted by both Formula One and the World Rally Championship. Starting with the 2010 seasons for both motorsport disciplines, the top ten finishers in each race or rally will earn points, instead of the top eight as in recent seasons.

The new system awards points on a 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 basis. An earlier tweak to the system would have awarded 25 points to first place and 20 to second, but further consideration by both F1 and WRC opted instead to give race winners a wider point margin than second place in a bid to encourage drivers to push for the win instead of taking a calculated second place points finish.

The Sporting Working Group – billed as a think-tank within the FIA – reportedly also considered proposals for F1 to award points for fastest laps and pole positions, as well as another proposal to mandate at least two pit stops per race despite the ban on mid-race refueling. These proposals, however, were not approved.

[Source: Autosport | Image: Fred DuFour/AFP/Getty]

Share This Photo X