Nominees announced for 2009 European COTY

Isn't it nice when everyone gets along? Every year, rather than naming their own selection, several of the largest automotive publications in Europe get together and pick their Car of the Year. A list is compiled of all eligible bachelors nominees, then the list is narrowed down to a handful (usually seven or eight) finalists before the single winner is announced.

The panel, which is composed of 59 judges from 23 different countries across Europe (including six representatives each from France, Great Britain, Italy and Spain), will announce the winner in Paris on November 17. Previous winners include the Fiat 500, Ford S-Max, Renault Clio and Toyota Prius. The organization has now releaved their list of 38 contenders; among those nominated are the Alfa MiTo, Audi Q5, Ford Fiesta, Honda Accord, Jaguar XF and Volkswagen Scirocco. Follow the jump for the full roster.



Alfa Romeo MiTo
Audi A4
Audi Q5
BMW series 7
Chevrolet HHR
Chrysler Grand Voyager
Citroën Berlingo / Peugeot Partner
Citroën C5
Dacia Sandero
Dodge Journey
Fiat Linea
Ford Fiesta
Ford Kuga
Honda Accord
Honda Jazz
Hyundai H1
Hyundai i10
Hyundai i20
Hyundai i55
Jaguar XF
Jeep Cherokee
Lancia Delta
Mercedes-Benz GLK
Mitsubishi Lancer
Opel Agila / Suzuki Splash
Opel Insignia
Renault Kangoo
Renault Koleos
Renault Mégane
Seat Ibiza
Skoda Superb
Subaru Forester
Toyota Land Cruiser 200
Volkswagen Golf
Volkswagen Scirocco
Volvo XC60

Share This Photo X