Twenty college teams from around the world (well, the U.S., Germany, Canada, Spain and Puerto Rico) will compete in the 2009 Solar Decathlon competition that will take place next fall in Washington, D.C. The U.S. Department of Energy's challenge is to build and run an entire home on solar power. As in previous years, the teams will also need to take into consideration generating enough electricity to power an electric car.

True to the name, the student-led teams will need to focus on ten areas. Transportation is covered by the EV aspect mentioned above. The other nine categories are architecture, engineering, market viability, communications, comfort, appliances, hot water, lighting, and energy balance. The DOE states:

In addition to producing enough electricity and hot water to perform all the functions of a home, from powering lights and electronics to cooking, washing clothes and dishes, each home must produce surplus energy sufficient to power an electric car. The team that finishes the week of competition with the most points wins.

The 20 teams (listed after the jump) will each get $100,000 for this contest, which is part of President Bush's Solar America Initiative, a plan the DOE says "seeks to make solar power cost-competitive with conventional forms of electricity by 2015." The video above was shot at the 2007 Solar Decathlon, where the team from Technische Universistät Darmstadt won. Here's the DOE press release announcing the 2009 teams.

[Source: DOE via Renewable Energy Access]

  • Boston Architectural College, Boston, Massachusetts; and Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts
  • Cornell University, Ithaca, New York
  • Iowa State University of Science and Technology, Ames, Iowa
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Missouri
  • The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania
  • Rice University, Houston, Texas
  • Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, California
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt, Germany
  • Universidad de Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • The University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
  • University of Calgary, SAIT Polytechnic, and Mount Royal College; Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois
  • University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, Louisiana
  • University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario; Ryerson University, Toronto, Ontario; and Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia

Share This Photo X