Alfa Romeo wins Mille Miglia

Here's more reason for Alfisti to rejoice. Although it hasn't been a race of pure speed since 1957, winning the Mille Miglia is still an honor and a testament to skill behind the wheel. This year's trophy hoisters are Luciano Viaro and Luca Bergamaschi, in a 1928 Alfa Romeo 6C 1500S. They beat a 1927 Bugatti T 37, and a 1933 Aston Martin Le Mans.

It's the third Mille Miglia victory for Alfa Romeo since the race changed format in 1957: they won with the same car and driver combo in 2005, and prior to that they won in 1977 with a 1927 RL. During the 30-year span when the race was about being the first and fastest, from 1927 to 1957, Alfa won 11 times. Coincidentally, this year's winner is the same car that won the 1928 edition of the race.

[Source: World Car Fans]

Share This Photo X