Toro Rosso finally announces Scott Speed returns, 2007 F1 roster confirmed

The last racing seat has finally been confirmed for the 2007 Formual One season, as Scott Speed stays on with Scuderia Toro Rosso, Red Bull's back-marker B-team once known as Minardi. Lead by former F1 driver Gerhard Berger, Toro Rosso seemed to have been playing a twisted little game of waiting as long as possible to make the announcement, finally tipping their hand at the bottom of a testing session press release to ensure it gets the least attention possible.

While Speed remains the only American driver in F1, other countries are well represented. British fans have four drivers on the grid to support, plus two test drivers. While Takuma Sato remains the only Japanese driver on the grid, Nippon-backed teams Toyota, Williams and Super Aguri (with the notable exception of Honda) have stacked their testing rosters with four more Japanese pilots. Four German testers join four drivers in the post-Schumacher era. Italy has four on the grid and another in the garage. Two drivers and two testers compete for the attention of Brazilian fans. Even the Dutch are back with one driver and two testers.

With the unstartling revelation, the full grid for the 2007 Formula One season is now confirmed, as every other team has already announced its driver line-up (save for Toro Rosso's test drivers).

Follow the jump for the full roster.


2007 Formula One roster

ING Renault F1

  • Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)
  • Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)
  • Test drivers: Ricardo Zonta (Brazil), and Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brazil)

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro

  • Felipe Massa (Brazil)
  • Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)
  • Test drivers: Luca Badoer (Italy) and Marc Gené (Spain)

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

Honda F1

  • Jenson Button (UK)
  • Rubens Barrichello (Brazil)
  • Test Drivers: Christian Klien (Austria) and James Rossiter (UK)

BMW Sauber F1

  • Nick Heidfeld (Germany)
  • Robert Kubica (Poland)
  • Test drivers: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) and Timo Glock (Germany)

Panasonic Toyota Racing

  • Jarno Trulli (Italy)
  • Ralf Schumacher (Germany)
  • Test drivers: Franck Montagny (France), Kohei Hirate (Japan) and Kamui Kobayashi (Japan)

Red Bull Racing (powered by Renault)

  • David Coulthard (UK)
  • Mark Webber (Australia)
  • Test drivers: Robert Doornbos (Netherlands) and Michael Ammermuller (Germany)

AT&T WilliamsF1 Team (powered by Toyota)

  • Nico Rosberg (Germany)
  • Alex Wurz (Austria)
  • Test drivers: Narain Karthikeyan (India) and Kazuki Nakajima (Japan)

Scuderia Toro Rosso (powered by Ferrari)

  • Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy)
  • Scott Speed (USA)
  • (Test drivers TBC)

Spyker F1 Racing (powered by Ferrari)

  • Christijan Albers (Netherlands)
  • Adrian Sutil (Germany)
  • Test drivers: Mohamed Fairuz Fauzy (Malaysia), Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands), Adrián Vallés (Spain) and Markus Winkelhock (Germany)

Super Aguri Formula One (powered by Honda)

  • Takuma Sato (Japan)
  • Anthony Davidson (UK)
  • Test drivers: Sakon Yamamoto (Japan)

Share This Photo X